Spanish MotoGP Race Results: Quartararo wins, huge crash for Marquez

Fabio Quartararo secures his maiden MotoGP victory in the Spanish MotoGP as Marc Marquez suffers a huge crash while battling his way up the field

Fabio Quartararo - Petronas SRT Yamaha 1200

Fabio Quartararo has become MotoGP’s newest race winner after producing an exemplary performance in the Spanish MotoGP at Jerez, while Marc Marquez suffered a huge off in the closing stages.

An absorbing race that looked to be playing into the hands of Marquez when he moved into the lead after just three laps, the Spaniard nonetheless twisted the outcome on its head when he first ran off on lap six at Turn 3.

Dropping him from first down to 18th and last, that error lifted Maverick Vinales into the lead though he’d soon be reeled in by Quartararo who, after a sluggish start, powered into a lead he’d hold to the chequered flag on lap eight.

Multiplying his advantage out front, despite Quartararo’s efforts it was Marquez that was stealing the headlines behind as he rapidly scythed his way up the order, picking off riders with every lap to remarkably work himself back into the chasing pack circulating around four seconds behind the leader.

Taking him all the way to third with three laps remaining, Marquez was squaring off Vinales when the Repsol Honda snapped away from him in turn three again, this time flicking him into a high-side and down heavily. The retirement marks his first since COTA 2019.

Up at the front Quartararo completed his long-awaited maiden win, just over a year after he announced himself officially by claiming a first pole position at the same circuit.

Vinales held on for second place to complete a Yamaha 1-2, ahead of Andrea Dovizioso, who came on strong in the closing stages to overtake Ducati counterpart Jack Miller for third on the penultimate revolution.

Franco Morbidelli snatched fifth on the final corner from Pol Espargaro, who was nonetheless impressive on his way to sixth aboard the KTM.

Pecco Bagnaia finished seventh with Miguel Oliveira, Danilo Petrucci and Takaaki Nakagami rounding out the top ten.

Elsewhere, Valentino Rossi was a distant eighth when his Yamaha hit mechanical problems and retired, while Cal Crutchlow failed to start after suffering a concussion in a crash during morning warm-up

2020 Spanish MotoGP – Race Results

Spanish MotoGP Results - Race Results
1Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha SRT25 Laps
2Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGP+4.603
3Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team+5.946
4Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati+6.668
5Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha SRT+6.844
6Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory Racing+6.938
7Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati+13.027
8Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3+13.441
9Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team+19.651
10Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda+21.553
11Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia Racing Ducati+25.100
12Alex MarquezESPRepsol Honda Team+27.350
13Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory Racing+29.640
14Tito RabatESPReale Avintia Racing Ducati+32.898
15Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Racing Team Gresini+39.682
DNFMarc MarquezSPARepsol Honda Team 
DNFValentino RossiITAMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGP 
DNFJoan MirESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar 
DNFAleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing Team Gresini 
DNFIker LecuonaESPRed Bull KTM Tech3 
DNSCal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda 
DNSAlex RinsSPATeam Suzuki Ecstar