WSB 2014: Qatar race 2 results

The 2014 World Superbike Champion is crowned

SYLVAIN Guintoli has been crowned the 2014 World Superbike Champion after winning race two at Qatar by almost four seconds.

Tom Sykes led the pack from the start of race one before Jonathan Rea took the lead for several laps. It was race one winner Guintoli who then found his way through from third to take the lead from the Brit.

It was a career-first double victory for Guintoli, securing him the 2014 World Superbike title by six points.

Isle of Man resident Rea denied Sykes second place by 1.524 seconds.

Aprilia’s Marco Melandri finished fourth with Ducati’s Chaz Davies fifth.

After being crowned the Superbike EVO winner after race one, David Salom went on to cross the line as first EVO rider with Niccolo Canepa finishing 12th.

Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Eugene Laverty crashed out as did Jeremy Guarnoni, Aaron Yates and EVO rider Sylvain Barrier. All were said to be okay.

Race two results:

1. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Aprilia Racing
2. Jonathan Rea GBR PATA Honda World Superbike +3.568
3. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing +5.092
4. Marco Melandri ITA Aprilia Racing +8.305
5. Chaz Davies GBR Ducati Superbike Team +8.390
6. Toni Elias ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia +8.654 
7. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing +9.115
8. Davide Giugliano ITA Ducati Superbike Team+13.015
9. Alex Lowes GBR Voltcom Crescent Suzuki +13.478
10. Leon Haslam GBR PATA Honda World Superbike +25.471
11. David Salom* ESP Kawasaki Racing +37.964
12. Niccolo Canepa* ITA Althea Ducati +38.001 
13. Bryan Staring* AUS IRON BRAIN Kawasaki +46.248
14. Claudio Corti ITA MV Agusta RC +51.926
15. Alessandro Andreozzi* ITA Pedercini Kawasaki +56.331
16. Geoff May USA Team Hero EBR 1190RX +1:23.937
17. Imre Toth* HUN Team Toth BMW S1000RR +1 lap
18. Alex Cudlin* AUS Pedercini Kawasaki +1 lap 

DNF. Sylvain Barrier* FRA BMW Italia
DNF. Aaron Yates USA Team Hero EBR
DNF. Jeremy Guarnoni* FRA MRS Kawasaki
DNF. Eugene Laverty IRL Voltcom Crescent Suzuki