WSBK Phillip Island test - day two

Lowes remains on top as the first official test comes to a close

VOLTCOM Crescent Suzuki's Alex Lowes has finished the first official World Superbike test of 2015 in the top spot and 0.070s under last year's race lap record. 

The combined Tuesday test times saw Brit Lowes beat last year's race lap record ahead of Sunday's first two WSBK races of 2015 at Phillip Island in Australia. 

Behind Lowes, but only by 0.051s, was Isle of Man resident Jonathan Rea for the Kawasaki Racing Team. WSBK rookie's Jordi Torres and Nico Terol impressed by finished second and eighth respectively, and completed over 200 laps between them.

Rea's team-mate Tom Sykes finished fourth followed by Leon Haslam and Chaz Davies who completed the top six. 

Both Davide Giugliano and Voltcom's Randy de Puniet suffered crashes yesterday at turn 11. Giugliano was unable to participate in Tuesday's testing. De Puniet made an appearance, having suffered bruising on his lower back.

Former WSBK champion Tom Sykes crashed out in the final hour of the test and was able to re-join, while reigning champion Sylvain Guintoli crashed out with only eight minutes remaining. Sylvain Barrier also suffered a high speed crash, but walked away unhurt. 

Free practice sessions start on Friday, which officially marks the start of the 2015 WSBK season. 

Overall, there were more than 2000 laps completed by 25 riders during two days of tests, with seven manufacturers in the top 12.

Test times day two: 

1. Alex Lowes Voltcom Crescent Suzuki 1:30.829
2. Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing 1:30.880 (+0.051)
3. Jordi Torres Red Devils Roma Aprilia 1:30.971 (+0.142)
4. Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing 1:31.075 (+0.246)
5. Leon Haslam Red Devils Roma Aprilia 1:31.102 (+0.273)
6. Chaz Davies Racing Ducati 1:31.296 (+0.467)
7. David Salom Pedercini Kawasaki 1:31.510 (+0.681)
8. Nico Terol Althea Ducati 1:31.593 (+0.764)
9. Michael van der Mark PATA Honda World Superbike 1:31.854 (+1.025)
10. Niccolo Canepa Team Hero EBR 1:32.002 (+1.173)
11. Sylvain Guintoli PATA Honda World Superbike 1:32.220 (+1.391)
12. Leon Camier MV Agusta 1:32.238 (+1.409)
13. Tati Mercado Barni Ducati 1:32.239 (+1.410)
14. Sylvain Barrier BMW Italia 1:32.268 (+1.439)
15. Matteo Baiocco Althea Ducati 1:32.430 (+1.601)
16. Randy de Puniet Voltcom Crescent Suzuki 1:33.137 (+2.308)
17. Roman Ramos GO Eleven Kawasaki 1:33.349 (+2.520)
18. Matthew Walters Pedercini Kawasaki 1:33.354 (+2.525)
19. Jed Metcher Race Center Kawasaki 1:33.570 (+2.741)
20. Santiago Barragan Grillini Kawasaki 1:34.104 (+3.275)
21. Larry Pegram Team Hero EBR 1:34.274 (+3.445)
22. Christophe Ponsson Grillini Kawasaki 1:34.966 (+3.137)
23. Gabor Rizmayer  Team Toth BMW 1:35.351 (+4.522)
24. Imre TothTeam Toth BMW 1:36.112 (+5.283)
25. Davide Giugliano Racing Ducati NIL.