MotoGP 2024: 42 Races and a Major Milestone to Hit

The 2024 MotoGP season promises to be one of the most exciting yet, with 42 races spread over 21 events and a number of title contenders

Francesco Bagnaia, Marc Marquez, 2024 MotoGP Sepang Test. - Gold and Goose

After celebrating its 75th season and 1,000th Grand Prix in 2023, MotoGP will mark its 75th birthday later in 2024, with Ducati’s Francesco Bagnaia defending the world title for the second year in a row, and Marc Marquez making his first racing venture outside of Honda.


2024 MotoGP World Championship

After the second round of the 2024 MotoGP World Championship, Jorge Martin has opened up a commanding 18-point lead over Brad Binder following non-scores for both Francesco Bagnaia and Marc Marquez at the Portuguese Grand Prix, and a win for Martin in the same race.

2024 MotoGP Riders' World Championship

2024 MotoGP World Championship | Riders' Standings | Round 2/21
PosRiderNat.MotoGP TeamMotoGP BikePoints
1Jorge MartinESPPrima Pramac RacingDucati GP2460
2Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC1642
3Enea BastianiniITADucati Lenovo TeamDucati GP2439
4Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo TeamDucati GP2437
5Pedro AcostaESPRed Bull GasGas Tech3KTM RC1628
6Marc MarquezITAGresini RacingDucati GP2327
7Aleix EspargaroESPAprilia RacingAprilia RS-GP25
8Maverick VinalesESPAprilia RacingAprila RS-GP19
9Jack MillerAUSRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC1616
10Fabio Di GiannantonioITAPertamina Enduro VR46Ducati GP2315
11Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Energy YamahaYamaha YZR-M115
12Alex MarquezESPGresini RacingDucati GP2313
13Marco BezzecchiITAPertamina Enduro VR46Ducati GP2312
14Miguel OliveiraPORTrackhouse RacingAprilia RS-GP8
15Joan MirESPRepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V6
16Johann ZarcoFRACastrol Honda LCRHonda RC213V5
17Augusto FernandezESPRed Bull GasGas Tech3KTM RC165
18Alex RinsESPMonster Energy YamahaYamaha YZR-M13
19Takaaki NakagamiJAPIdemitsu Honda LCRHonda RC213V2
20Franco MorbidelliITAPramac RacingDucati GP240
21Luca MariniITARepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V0
22Raul FernandezESPTrackhouse RacingAprilia RS-GP0

2024 MotoGP Teams' World Championship

2024 MotoGP World Championship | Teams' Standings | Round 2/21
1Ducati Lenovo TeamDucati76
2Prima Pramac RacingDucati60
3Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM58
4Aprilia RacingAprilia44
5Gresini RacingDucati40
6Red Bull GasGas Tech3KTM33
7Pertamina Enduro VR46Ducati27
8Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGPYamaha18
9Trackhouse RacingAprilia8
10LCR HondaHonda7
11Repsol Honda TeamHonda6

2024 MotoGP Constructors' World Championship

2024 MotoGP World Championship | Constructors' Standings | Round 2/21

2024 MotoGP Teams & Riders

The 2024 MotoGP roster of teams and riders is an interesting combination of stability and change. For example, last year’s RNF team, which ran satellite Aprilias, is now operating under new ownership and the name Trackhouse Racing, but the team itself is essentially the same one that made up the RNF team last year, including the riders: Miguel Oliveira and Raul Fernandez.

Elsewhere, the factory Ducati team remains the same as last year, with Enea Bastianini alongside three-times World Champion Francesco Bagnaia, but Ducati has also lost its Sporting Director, Paolo Ciabatti, who has moved to head up Ducati’s motocross project. Ciabatti, as a member of Ducati Corse rather than the Ducati Lenovo Team, had responsibilities that extended beyond the factory team, but his departure from MotoGP nonetheless shows there are complications even for the dominant force of the championship over the last few years.

Higher profile moves include that of Marc Marquez, who chose to leave Repsol Honda after 10 years to join the Gresini Racing Ducati team. Marquez’ replacement at HRC, Luca Marini, left a space open at VR46 in the process of becoming a factory Honda rider, and that spot is filled by Fabio Di Giannantonio, who was displaced from Gresini by Marquez.

There is only one MotoGP rookie in 2024, and that is Pedro Acosta, the reigning Moto2 World Champion, who impressed in testing. Acosta joins the new-look Red Bull GasGas Tech3 team alongside Augusto Fernandez.

The full list of teams and riders in the 2024 MotoGP World Championship is below.

2024 MotoGP Entry List

2024 MotoGP Entry List
89Jorge MartinESPPrima Pramac RacingDucati Desmosedici GP24
21Franco MorbidelliITAPrima Pramac RacingDucati Desmosedici GP24
1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo TeamDucati Desmosedici GP24
23Enea BastianiniITADucati Lenovo TeamDucati Desmosedici GP24
72Marco BezzecchiITAPertamina Enduro VR46 Racing TeamDucati Desmosedici GP23
49Fabio Di GiannantonioITAPertamina Enduro VR46 Racing TeamDucati Desmosedici GP23
73Alex MarquezESPGresini RacingDucati Desmosedici GP23
93Marc MarquezESPGresini RacingDucati Desmosedici GP23
33Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC16
43Jack MillerAUSRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC16
37Augusto FernandezESPRed Bull GasGas Tech3KTM RC16
31Pedro AcostaESPRed Bull GasGas Tech3KTM RC16
41Aleix EspargaroESPAprilia RacingAprilia RS-GP
12Maverick VinalesESPAprilia RacingAprilia RS-GP
88Miguel OliveiraPORTrackhouse RacingAprilia RS-GP
25Raul FernandezESPTrackhouse RacingAprilia RS-GP
20Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGPYamaha YZR-M1
42Alex RinsESPMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGPYamaha YZR-M1
36Joan MirESPRepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V
10Luca MariniITARepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V
30Takaaki NakagamiJAPIdemitsu Honda LCRHonda RC213V
5Johann ZarcoFRACastrol Honda LCRHonda RC213V

2024 MotoGP Races

The 2024 MotoGP calendar is already shorter than originally planned due to the cancellation of the Argentinian Grand Prix.

Remaining are 21 races, which would still make 2024’s the longest MotoGP season in history. When including the Sprints, which were introduced at every race in 2023, it means there are 42 scheduled MotoGP races this year.

The season will open in Qatar, which returns to its usual position as the first round after being shifted later in the calendar last year to accommodate time for changes to be made to the Lusail International Circuit at which it is held.

Two weekends are now MotoGP-free after Portugal thanks to the Argentinian cancellation, with the Grand Prix of the Americas in Texas now the only race set to take place west of Europe. The season will conclude, as usual, at the Circuit Ricardo Tormo which will host the Valencia Grand Prix.

2024 MotoGP Calendar

2024 MotoGP World Championship Calendar
Rd no.RaceVenueDate/Winners
1Qatar Grand PrixLusail International CircuitJorge Martin, Francesco Bagnaia
2Portuguese Grand PrixAutodromo Internacional do AlgarveMaverick Vinales, Jorge Martin
3Grand Prix of the AmericasCircuit of the Americas12-14 April
4Spanish Grand PrixCircuit de Jerez-Angel Nieto26-28 April
5French Grand PrixLe Mans Bugatti Circuit10-12 May
6Catalan Grand PrixCircuit de Barcelona-Catalunya24-26 May
7Italian Grand PrixAutodromo Internazionale del Mugello31 May - 2 June
8Kazakhstan Grand PrixSokol International Circuit14-16 June
9Dutch TTTT Circuit Assen28-30 June
10German Grand PrixSachsenring5-7 July
11British Grand PrixSilverstone Circuit2-4 August
12Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring16-18 August
13Aragon Grand PrixMotorLand Aragon30 Aug - 1 Sep
14San Marino Grand PrixMisano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli6-8 September
15Indian Grand PrixBuddh International Circuit20-22 September
16Indonesian Grand PrixMandalika International Street Circuit27-29 September
17Japanese Grand PrixMobility Resort Motegi4-6 October
18Australian Grand PrixPhillip Island Grand Prix Circuit18-20 October
19Thailand Grand PrixBuriram International Circuit25-27 October
20Malaysian Grand PrixSepang International Circuit1-3 November
21Valencian Grand PrixCircuit Ricardo Tormo15-17 November

Find all the latest MotoGP news on Visordown.