Rutter wins record 7th Macau GP

Rutter wins at Macau ahead of Jessop and Hutchinson

VETERAN BSB racer Michael Rutter was victorious in the Macau Grand Prix winning his seventh race and beating the previous record held by Ron Haslam.

Rutter had been dominant throughout the event, with the fastest times in practice and setting pole position. In the race, he commanded the pack to win by 4.772 seconds ahead of Riders Ducati team-mate Martin Jessop with Ian Hutchinson finishing in third in his comeback race.

The win means that he now holds the record for the most victories at the circuit, having previously been equal with Rocket Ron Haslam. Rutter said: "I can't believe it; to win seven races here in Macau is just unbelievable! I am really happy to win it as the conditions on track were real difficult as there was some oil down on one of fastest corners and they had put cement down to make it better. It's brilliant for the team to finish up with a win here and also for Martin to finish in second place."

2011 Macau Grand Prix Results:
1. Michael Rutter (Ducati)
2. Martin Jessopp (Ducati) +4.772s
3. Ian Hutchinson (Yamaha) +6.847s
4. Jeremy Toye (Kawasaki) +9.674s
5. Gary Johnson (Suzuki) +14.113s
6. John McGuinness (Honda) +14.314s
7. James Storrar (BMW) +32.049s
8. Michael Barnes (Kawasaki) +36.894s
9. Bruce Anstey (Honda) +39.384s
10. Steve Mercer (BMW) +41.713s
11. James Hillier (Kawasaki) +43.343s
12. Michael Dunlop (Kawasaki) +52.089s
13. William Dunlop (Honda) +1m 5.051s
14. Didier Grams (Suzuki) +1m 9.043s
15. Sean Dwyer (BMW) +1 11.068s