BSB Brands Hatch Race 3 Results: Brookes wins, Redding is champion

BSB Brands Hatch - Race 3 Results + Report: Scott Redding secures the 2019 BSB title as Josh Brookes completes a trio of wins at Brands Hatch

Josh Brookes - Be Wiser PBM Ducati 9

Scott Redding clinched the 2019 British Superbike Championship with a comfortable third place finish in the final race of the season at Brands Hatch, as Josh Brookes’ triple success wasn’t quite enough to unseat his title-winning team-mate.

Coming into the race with 14-points in hand over fellow Be Wiser Ducati rider Brookes, Redding needed a mere fifth place finish regardless of the Australian’s actions to seal the championship win.

Though Brookes went on to do what he needed to with a triple victory – his fifth of the year around the Kent circuit -  Redding recovered from another poor start to work his way into third place before holding station to reel off the title.

He ends the year with 11 wins to Brookes 10, the pair split by a mere 5 points by the chequered flag in the ex-MotoGP rider’s favour.

Tommy Bridewell followed his Ducati counterpart home in second place, completing a superb year on the Oxford Racing Ducati that left him only 61-points adrift in a season that yielded 18 podiums in 26 races.

Behind Redding, Christian Iddon ended his time at Tyco BMW with fourth place, which was enough to elevate him from ninth to seventh in the BSB standings, in so doing securing the BSB Riders’ Cup for non-Showdown contenders.

Peter Hickman completed his strong year with a fifth place ahead of Tarran Mackenzie and Jason O’Halloran, while Danny Buchan brought his breakthrough campaign to a conclusion in eighth place – all four riders return in 2020 with the same teams.

Ninth for Andrew Irwin meant he missed out on the BSB Riders’ Cup by a single point, as Dan Linfoot, Taylor Mackenzie and Luke Mossey.

BSB Brands Hatch - Race 3 Results

BSB Brands Hatch GP - Race Results (3)
1Josh Brookes (S)AUSBe Wiser Ducati PBMDucati Panigale V4 R20 Laps
2Tommy Bridewell (S)GBROxford Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+0.223
3Scott Redding (S)GBRBe Wiser Ducati PBMDucati Panigale V4 R+12.357
4Christian IddonGBRTyco BMWBMW S1000RR+14.695
5Peter Hickman (S)GBRSmiths Racing BMWBMW S1000RR+17.952
6Tarran Mackenzie (S)GBRMcAMS YamahaYamaha R1+18.238
7Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS YamahaYamaha R1+18.444
8Danny Buchan (S)GBRFS-3 Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR+20.895
9Andrew IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR+23.281
10Dan LinfootGBRSantander Salt TAG YamahaYamaha R1+23.439
11Taylor MackenzieGBRTyco BMWBMW S1000RR+23.561
12Luke MosseyGBROMG Racing SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100R+24.585
13Alex OlsenGBRSmiths Racing BMWBMW S1000RR+24.939
14Bradley RayGBRBuildbase SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100R+33.010
15Claudio CortiITAWD-40 Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR+39.125
16Hector BarberaESPQuattro Plant JG SpeedfitKawasaki ZX-10RR+45.327
17Luke StaplefordGBRBuildbase SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100R+45.327
18Billy McConnellAUSOMG Racing SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100R+45.535
19Gino ReaGBRBike Devil SwedaMV Agusta F4+54.681
20Matt TrueloveGBRRacedays YamahaYamaha R1+55.223
21Sam CoventryGBRTeam 64 KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR+1m 03.841
22Shaun WinfieldGBRSantander Salt TAG YamahaYamaha R1+1m 03.927
23James EllisonGBROMG Racing SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100R+1m 24.512
24Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone Engineering RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR18 Laps
25Josh OwensGBRCDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR13 Laps
26Ben CurrieAUSQuattro Plant JG SpeedfitKawasaki ZX-10RR11 Laps
27Ryan VickersGBRRAF Regular & ReservesKawasaki ZX-10RR9 Laps
28Xavi ForesESPHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR8 Laps
29Joe FrancisGBRPR Racing Lloyds & JonesBMW S1000RR3 Laps