WSBK 2016: Buriram race two results

Battle of the Kawasaki team-mates... and Chaz Davies

KAWASAKI Racing Team’s Tom Sykes has taken an incredible victory in a three-way fight with team-mate Jonathan Rea and Ducati's Chaz Davies for the win at Chang International Circuit in Thailand.

The Yorkshireman was in a battle with team-mate and reigning Champion Rea and Racing Ducati’s Chaz Davies for most of the race as they exchanged paint. After an incredible start from both Kawasaki riders, the first drama came when Honda rider Michael van der Mark and Davies made contact on the first lap as they fought for position.

Davies then pounced on van der Mark, as the Honda rider's weakness was visible in some corners, and the Welsh Ducati rider was able to close the gap to Sykes and Rea to joined a now three-way battle that only ended when the chequered flag came out.

It was Sykes who came out on top, crossing the line just ahead of his team-mate Rea, with Davies slotting into third after an incredibly tense last lap.

van der Mark crossed the line in fourth, his first time off the podium in 2016 so far. After a mechanical problem in Race 1 Honda team-mate Nicky Hayden retired, but the Kentucky Kid crossed the line in 5th to keep both the Fireblades in the top 5 in race two. 

Sylvain Guintoli brought the Yamaha home in seventh for another good result on the Japanese manufacturer’s return to World Superbikes ahead of the Althea BMW pair of Markus Reiterberger and Jordi Torres. Rookie Lorenzo Savadori crossed the line in ninth with Ducati rider Davide Giugliano rounding out the top ten. 

Race two results:

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racin 20 laps 
2. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing +0.190
3. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati +0.314 
4. Michael van der Mark NED Honda Racing +5.199 
5. Nicky Hayden USA Honda Racing +10.643
6. Sylvain Guintoli FRA PATA Crescent Yamaha +13.068
7. Markus Reiterberger GER Althea BMW +14.481
8. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW +14.504
9. Lorenzo Savadori ITA IodaRacing Aprilia +21.694
10. Davide Giugliano ITA Racing Ducati +23.794
11. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC +27.205
12. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki +32.309
13. Matteo Baiocco ITA VFT Ducati +36.672
14. Alex de Angelis RSM IodaRacing Aprilia +38.761
15. Karel Abraham CZE Milwaukee BMW +39.789
16. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee BMW +42.840
17. Sylvain Barrier FRA Pedercini Kawasaki +46.158
18. Anucha Nakcharoensri THA Yamaha Thailand +1:04.628
19. Dominic Schmitter SUI Grillini Kawasaki +1:21.675
20. Peter Sebestyen HUN Team Toth Yamaha +1:21.687
21. Sahustchai Kaewjaturaporn THAI Grillini Kawasaki+1 lap 
22. Imre Toth HUN Team Toth Yamaha +1 lap 

DNF. Saeed al Sulaiti QAT Pedercini Kawasaki 
DNF. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha  
DNF. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 

  • Sign up for Visordown's weekly newsletter, Bugsplat, to get the best motorcycle news, road tests and features plus exclusive competitions and offers direct to your inbox. Register as a Visordown member here and tick the box for Bugsplat in your newsletter settings here.