WSB 2015: Aragon race one results

Race results from the third round of the 2015 World Superbike Championship

KAWASAKI Racing Team’s Jonathan Rea claimed his fourth win of the season at Motorland Aragon, Spain this weekend ahead of Welshman Chaz Davies and fellow Brit Tom Sykes. 

In the opening 18-lap race it was the two Kawasaki’s of Rea and Sykes who battled it out until the 2015 championship leader managed to break away slightly on lap 14.

The pace of Davies on the Racing Ducati increased in the closing stages opening up a slight chance of grabbing second from Sykes, the former World Champion, who eventually finished in third. Davies missed out on second by 0.051s after a last lap battle with Ulsterman Rea after he re-took the lead on the final corner.

Behind the leading trio, pole position man Leon Haslam finished ahead of his Aprilia Racing Team team0mate Jordi Torres and just ahead of Xavi Fores who finished in sixth.

Althea Racing Ducati’s Nico Terol finished within 2.3s of Haslam claiming seventh ahead of Leandro Mercado, Sylvain Guintoli and MV Agusta’s Leon Cameier to complete the top 10.

Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Alex Lowes and Randy de Puniet both retired to the pits, however they re-joined at around half race distance to ensure technical issues did not crop up in Race 2.

Pata Honda World Superbike’s Michael van der Mark also retired on lap 11.

Race one results:

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing
2. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati (+0.051)
3. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing (+4.977)
4. Leon Haslam GBR Red Devils Roma Aprilia (+15.088)
5. Jordi Torres ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia (+15.290)
6. Xavi Fores ESP Racing Ducati (+16.655)
7. Nico Terol ESP Althea Ducati (+17.365)
8. Leandro Mercado ARG Barni Ducati (+25.527)
9. Sylvain Guintoli FRA PATA Honda World Superbike (+34.464)  
10. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta F4 (+43.013)
11. Santiago Barragan ESP Grillini Kawasaki (+43.627)
12. Matteo Baiocco ITA Althea Ducati (+44.893)
13. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki (+47.663) 
14. Christophe Ponsson LUX Grillini Kawasaki (+71.843)
15. Niccolo Canepa 
ITA Team Hero EBR (+75.919)
16. Javier Alviz 
ESP Pedercini Kawasaki (+80.816)
17. Larry Pegram 
USA Team Hero EBR (+82.279) 
18. Imre Toth 
HUN Team Toth BMW (+1 lap) 
19. Gabor Rizmayer 
HUN Team Toth BMW (+1 lap) 

DNF. Alex Lowes GBR Voltcom Crescent Suzuki
DNF. Ayrton Badovini ITA BMW Italia
DNF. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Honda World Superbike
DNF. Randy de Puniet FRA Voltcom Crescent Suzuki
DNF. David Salom ESP Pedercini Kawasaki