WorldSBK Jerez Results 1: Redding dismisses Rea to claim maiden win 

Ducati's Scott Redding wastes no time in stamping his mark on WorldSBK as he takes a well-thought out win over Jonathan Rea in Jerez

Scott Redding has clinched his maiden WorldSBK Championship with an impressive victory over Jonathan Rea that will almost certainly send a message to the defending world champion.

The ex-MotoGP rider bided his time to beat Rea at his own game, the Ulsterman’s usual trope of controlling the pace before pushing on at the end undone by a rival that had more performance to spare.

Starting from a WorldSBK pole position for the first time in his career, Redding lost ground off the start line to run in third, but he’d stick with early leader Rea and Toprak Razgatlioglu to plot his attack.

The first strike came with nine laps remaining when Redding popped past Razgatlioglu into Turn 6 before latching onto Rea. 

With six laps remaining Redding pulled out to complete the same pass though would time intentionally run it out wide on the apex to block pass the Kawasaki rider and sit him up.

With Rea unable to respond over the final circulations, Redding pulled out a comfortable advantage to take a first victory for Ducati and with it the championship lead.

Behind Rea, Razgatlioglu held on for third from Chaz Davies, who made a brilliant charge back into contention to snatch fourth from Loris Baz in the closing stages.

Michael Ruben Rinaldi was a distant sixth, ahead of top Honda Alvaro Bautista and Marco Melandri, the Italian’s comeback performance seeing his ascend from 19th to eighth on the Barni Ducati.

Elsewhere, there was disappointment for Tom Sykes and Michael van der Mark after technical issues eliminated them from the action.

2020 Jerez WorldSBK – Race Results (1)

2020 Spanish WorldSBK, Jerez - Race Results (1)
1Scott Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R21 Laps
2Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+1.147
4Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+2.252
4Chaz Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+2.699
5Loris BazFRATen Kate RacingYamaha YZF-R1+3.301
6Michael Ruben RinaldiITATeam GOELEVENDucati Panigale V4 R+6.367
7Alvaro BautistaESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+10.228
8Marco MelandriITABarni RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+18.713
9Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+20.421
10Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+24.361
11Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Junior WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+26.610
12Christophe PonssonFRANuova M2 RacingAprilia RSV4 1000+34.651
13Xavi ForesESPKawasaki Puccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+34.709
14Sandro CorteseGEROutdo Kawasaki TPRKawasaki ZX-10RR+38.138
15Eugene LavertyIRLBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW S1000RR+38.365
16Sylvain BarrierFRABrixx PerformanceDucati Panigale V4 R+49.601
17Lorenzo GabelliniITAMIE Racing AltheaHonda CBR1000RR-R+52.357
18Takumi TakahashiJPNMIE Racing AltheaHonda CBR1000RR-R+53.802
20Tom SykesGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW S1000RR+6 Laps
 Maximilian ScheibCHIOrelac Racing VerdnaturaKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 40.403
DNFLeandro MercadoARGMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R 
DNFMichael van der MarkNEDPata Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1 
DNFFederico CaricasuloITAGRT Junior WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1 

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Reviews


Latest Videos