WorldSBK Jerez SP Race Results: Rea hits back with win

Jonathan Rea cruises to victory in the second WorldSBK race of the Jerez weekend, ahead of Ducati's Scott Redding and Yamaha's Michael van der Mark

Jonathan Rea - Kawasaki Racing Team
Jonathan Rea - Kawasaki Racing Team

Jonathan Rea returned to the top of the WorldSBK podium with a comfortable victory in the 10-lap Superpole Race in Jerez, in turn earning himself pole position for Race 2.

The Kawasaki Racing Team rider led for the majority of Race 1 on Saturday only to be overhauled by Scott Redding, but made no mistakes this time in the shorter sprint after grabbing the lead off the start and consolidating it until the chequered flag.

Indeed, Redding’s poor getaway from the lights again left him with work to do as both Rea and Toprak Razgatlioglu swept past, the Ducati rider getting caught up behind the Turk as Rea escaped into the lead.

Razgatlioglu defended hard until he suddenly slowed with four laps remaining to retire, the second such DNF for a Yamaha rider this weekend after Michael van der Mark was forced to stop in Race 1 too.

However, Rea had more than enough in hand to complete the win over Redding, who nonetheless retains his championship lead.

van der Mark made some amends for his Saturday issues to claim a first podium of the year, ahead of Yamaha stablemate Loris Baz and Ducati’s Chaz Davies. Tom Sykes, the recovering Alex Lowes, Garrett Gerloff and Leon Haslam completed the top nine to secure their spot on the front three rows for Race 2.

WorldSBK Jerez - Superpole Race Results

2020 Spanish WorldSBK, Jerez - Superpole Race Results
1Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR10 Laps
2Scott Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+0.522
3Michael van der MarkNEDPata Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+2.701
4Loris BazFRATen Kate RacingYamaha YZF-R1+4.804
5Chaz Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+6.471
6Tom SykesGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW S1000RR+8.561
7Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+11.951
8Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Junior WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+14.122
9Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+14.285
10Alvaro BautistaESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+14.554
11Michael Ruben RinaldiITATeam GOELEVENDucati Panigale V4 R+16.337
13Xavi ForesESPKawasaki Puccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+17.268
13Eugene LavertyIRLBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW S1000RR+17.971
14Sandro CorteseGEROutdo Kawasaki TPRKawasaki ZX-10RR+18.741
15Maximilian ScheibCHIOrelac Racing VerdnaturaKawasaki ZX-10RR+18.786
16Federico CaricasuloITAGRT Junior WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+19.902
17Leandro MercadoARGMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+20.031
18Marco MelandriITABarni RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+25.819
19Christophe PonssonFRANuova M2 RacingAprilia RSV4 1000+26.219
20Lorenzo GabelliniITAMIE Racing AltheaHonda CBR1000RR-R+36.568
21Sylvain BarrierFRABrixx PerformanceDucati Panigale V4 R+36.574
22Takumi TakahashiJPNMIE Racing AltheaHonda CBR1000RR-R+36.892
DNFToprak RazgatliogluTURPata Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1 

Sponsored Content