Senior TT delayed, Dunlop wins SSP | 2022 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Day results

It is the 2022 Isle of Man TT Senior race day, the final race day of the 2022 TT, with the second Supersport and Sidecar races going off as well.

Michael Dunlop, 2022 Supersport TT race 2. - Tony Goldsmith/IOMTT Press

The 2022 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Day is upon us, with the second Supersport and Sidecar TTs also running today. This article will be updated throughout the day with the latest results from today's races. 

Senior TT

Due to worsening weather conditions throughout the day on Friday, the decision was taken by TT race control to cancel racing for the day after the Sidecar race was red flagged early in the afternoon. After it was already postponed to 16:00, and then to 16:15, the Senior was cancelled for Friday, with the hopes of running it on Saturday.

Supersport TT (Race 2)

The second Supersport TT of the 2022 Isle of Man TT races was yet another grand battle between Peter Hickman and Michael Dunlop. The two had previously battled it out in the Supertwins TT on Wednesday, with Dunlop's retirement on that occasion allowing Hickman to come out on top, while Dunlop was victorious in the first Supersport race earlier in the week. 

The Hickman-Dunlop battle continued throughout the two-lap race, reduced by 50% from the standard four laps. In the end, as in the previous middleweight encounter, it was Dunlop who came out on top, beating Hickman by just over three seconds after 35 minutes of racing. Dean Harrison completed the podium, his third of the week after finishing second in last Saturday's Superbike TT, and the first Supersport TT. 

Davey Todd was fourth, while Jamie Coward completed the top five, ahead of Conor Cummins. James Hillier took seventh place, ahead of Dominic Herbertson, Mike Browne and Paul Jordan who completed the top 10.

2022 Isle of Man TT - Top 20 Supersport Race 2 Results

2022 Isle of Man TT - Top 20 Supersport Race 2 Results (Friday, 10 June)
1Michael DunlopYamaha YZF-R6MD Racing35:29.154
2Peter HickmanTriumph Daytona 765K2 Trooper Beer by PHR Performance35:32.451
3Dean HarrisonKawasaki ZX-6RDAO Racing Kawasaki35:53.800
4Davey ToddHonda CBR600RRMilenco By Padgett's Motorcycles36:11.365
5Jamie CowardYamaha YZF-R6KTS Racing powered by Steadplan36:17.827
6Conor CumminsHonda CBR600RRMilenco By Padgett's Motorcycles36:23.019
7James HillierYamaha YZF-R6Rich Energy OMG Racing36:33.602
8Dominic HerbertsonKawasaki ZX-6RCowton Racing36:41.569
9Mike BrowneYamaha YZF-R6Burrows Engineering/RK Racing36:58.085
10Paul JordanYamaha YZF-R6PreZ Racing by Prosper²37:04.354
11James HindYamaha YZF-R6Bass Tyre Services37:05.720
12Rob HodsonYamaha YZF-R6Dafabet Racing37:22.761
13Ian HutchinsonYamaha YZF-R6Boyce Precision by Russell Racing37:32.989
14Michael EvansYamaha YZF-R6Heattech Racing37:34.921
15Michael SweeneyYamaha YZF-R6EM Building37:39.222
16Craig NeveKawasaki ZX-6RAlasdair Cowan Racing37:43.897
17Nathan HarrisonHonda CBR600RRQuayside Tyres/Chris Preston38:12.363
18John McGuinnessHonda CBR600RRSMT Racing/Blue Earth Construction38:13.106
19Brian McCormackTriumph Daytona 765Global Robots38:13.676
20Joseph LoughlinYamaha YZF-R6Team ILR/Mark Coverdale38:14.504