IOMTT: Supersport race 1 results

Crash at Ballaugh bridge during Monday's Supersport race fatal

GARY Johnson won the first Supersport race of the 2014 TT on board his Smiths Triumph closely followed by the ‘Flying Kiwi’ Bruce Anstey.

Racing was delayed due to poor weather conditions around the course, but an announcement was made at noon that roads would close at 1:30pm for a 2pm start of the first supersport race over four laps.

In a race later marred by a fatal crash, Johnson took the lead from the beginning as he was fastest to Glen Helen. Anstey was close behind despite the Smiths Triumph rider pulling out a 0.719s lead by Ballaugh. Michael Dunlop was unable to keep up with the pace of the leading two riders, although the Sulby speed trap clocked him at 171.1mph.

Manxman Conor Cummins moved up to fourth ahead of Tyco Suzuki’s Guy Martin whilst Milwaukee Yamaha’s Ian Hutchinson and Josh Brookes were 11th and 13th respectively.

Completing a lap of 125.766mph, Johnson started lap two only marginally ahead of Anstey as the Kiwi took over the lead from John McGuinness, who started 40 seconds ahead. By this point, Johnson trailed Anstey by just 0.8 seconds. 

Although the Isle of Man TT is a time trial, the front seven came through Rhencullen in quick succession and not 10 seconds apart.

The second lap saw the lead chop and change between Johnson and Anstey. Anstey then took a one-second advantage with a quicker pit stop but it was soon to be taken away when the pair reached Glen Helen on lap three.

Brookes had issues with his pit stop as he came through Rhencullen on his third lap just as the leaders were at Glen Helen on their fourth, and he eventually finished way down in 67th. Martin dropped from fourth to sixth, allowing Cummins to take fourth position. It was later reported that Cummins had retired at Ginger Hall on the last lap.

Johnson took the chequered flag for Triumph – their first win in eleven years – despite Anstey closing the gap to just over 1.5 seconds. Michael Dunlop took third position to put two Honda’s on the podium.

The ACU later announced that on lap three of the Supersport race, 65-year-old Bob Price, from Stroud, Gloucestershire, was involved in a crash at Ballaugh bridge and killed.

Supersport race results:

1. Gary Johnson Triumph / Smiths 01:12:43.035 124.526mph Silver
2. Bruce Anstey Honda / Valvoline Racing by Padgetts Moto 01:12:44.537 124.483mph Silver
3. Michael Dunlop Honda / MD Racing 01:12:54.719 124.194mph Silver
4. Dean Harrison Yamaha / MARTRAIN YAMAHA 01:13:24.646 123.350mph Silver
5. William Dunlop Suzuki / Tyco Suzuki 01:13:37.324 122.996mph Silver
6. Guy Martin Suzuki / Tyco Suzuki 01:13:44.591 122.794mph Silver
7. James Hillier Kawasaki / Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki 01:14:30.983 121.520mph Silver
8. Lee Johnston Honda / ECC / Pirtek Racing Honda 01:14:32.414 121.481mph Silver
9. Michael Rutter Triumph / Smiths Triumph 01:14:38.907 121.305mph Silver
10. Keith Amor Honda / RigDeluge Honda 01:14:48.288 121.051mph Silver
11. Ian Hutchinson Yamaha / Milwaukee Yamaha 01:14:49.313 121.023mph Silver
12. Ivan Lintin Honda / Taylor Lindsey Racing 01:14:57.448 120.805mph Silver
13. Dan Stewart Honda / SMT / WILCOCK Racing 01:15:01.217 120.703mph Silver
14. Dan Kneen Honda / Cookstown B.E.Racing 01:15:09.314 120.487mph Silver
15. John McGuinness Honda / Valvoline Racing by Padgetts Moto 01:15:10.703 120.450mph Silver
16. David Johnson Yamaha / CD Racing / 4 Anjels / Proseal U 01:15:19.940 120.203mph Silver
17. Steve Mercer Suzuki / TTC 01:15:43.406 119.583mph Silver
18. James Cowton Honda / F W Cowton Joiners 01:15:53.090 119.328mph Silver
19. Russ Mountford Triumph / Silicone Engineering Racing 01:15:53.396 119.320mph Silver
20. Jamie Hamilton Honda / Wilson Craig Racing 01:16:06.106 118.988mph Silver