2022 ISLE OF MAN TT [2 June] | Hickman goes sub-17 on TT practice day five

Peter Hickman stepped the pace up on day five of practice at the Isle of Man TT, going sub-17-minutes for the first time a this year’s race. 

Peter Hickman 2022 IOMTT. - IOMTT Races Press

The time before the first races at his year’s Isle of Man TT is growing smaller, and thus the pace is getting hotter. On day five, Peter Hickman went upwards of 133mph for the first time this week. 

Specifically, Hickman set a 133.22mph lap on his way to the top of the timesheets on Thursday, one mile-per-hour ahead of Dean Harrison, with Davey Todd in third place at 131.47mph. 

Hickman was also fastest in the Superstock and Supertwins classes. In the Stocks, he set a 129.910mph lap, just under one mile-per-hour faster than Davey Todd, and Conor Cummins was third with a 128.73mph average.

Hickman’s advantage was the smallest in Supertwins, where Michael Dunlop was within a second of Hickman. Just 0.267 seconds separated Hickman (with a 120.99mph average) and Dunlop (120.96mph average), while Lee Johnston was third fastest in the Supertwins class at 118.45mph. 

Dunlop himself was the fastest rider in Supersport. The #6 set a 126.66mph lap to top the middleweight times on Thursday, 1.01mph faster than Dean Harrison (125.65mph), and Jamie Coward was third at 125.21mph, just 0.01mph faster than Lee Jonston. 

In the Sidecars, Ben and Tom Birchall were fastest at 117.47mph, ahead of Ryan and Callum Crowe (115.56mph), and Peter Founds and Jevan Walmsley at 115.25mph. 

Full timing for all classes from Thursday night is available on the TT’s official live timing website, here, just note that an account is required if you have not used it before. Below, you can find the top 30 times from Thursday’s Superbike practice. 

2022 Isle of Man TT - Top 30 SUPERBIKE Qualifying LAPS (Thursday, 2 June)

2022 Isle of Man TT - Top 30 SUPERBIKE Qualifying LAPS (Thursday, 2 June)
1Peter HickmanBMW M1000RRGas Monkey Garage by FHO Racing16:59.579
2Dean HarrisonKawasaki ZX-10RRDAO Racing Kawasaki17:06.410
3Davey ToddHonda CBR1000RR-RMilenco By Padgett's Motorcycles17:07.545
4Michael DunlopSuzuki GSX-R1000Hawk Racing17:13.386
5Conor CumminsHonda CBR1000RR-RMilenco By Padgett's Motorcycles17:17.911
6John McGuinnessHonda CBR1000RR-RHonda Racing UK17:30.669
7James HillierYamaha YZF-R1Rich Energy OMG Racing17:37.593
8Jamie CowardYamaha YZF-R1KTS Racing powered by Steadplan17:41.350
9Phillip CroweBMW M1000RRHandtrans Haulage/Nigel Appleyard17:43.767
10Shaun AndersonSuzuki GSX-R1000Crendon Suzuki by Hawk Racing17:49.600
11Dominic HerbertsonBMW S1000RRGilbert Brown & Son17:52.928
12Nathan HarrisonHonda CBR1000RR-RIsle of Man Steam Packet Company17:53.388
13Derek SheilsBMW S1000RRRoadhouse Macau Racing17:53.782
14Gary JohnsonBMW S1000RRSpecsavers/North Lincolnshire M/CS17:58.857
15Michael RutterBMW M1000RRBathams Ales17:59.364
16Paul JordanYamaha YZF-R1PreZ Racing by Prosper²18:01.598
17Craig NeveBMW S1000RRCallmac Scaffolding18:03.500
18Mike BrowneSuzuki GSX-R1000Burrows Engineering/RK Racing18:05.959
19Rob HodsonKawasaki ZX-10RRDafabet Racing18:10.967
20Michael SweeneyBMW S1000RRMJR Racing18:12.043
21Matt StevensonBMW S1000RRP Constantine Building Services18:14.739
22Brian McCormackBMW M1000RRFHO Racing BMW/The Roadhouse Macau18:19.309
23Ian HutchnisonBMW M1000RRMilwaukee BMW Motorrad18:19.826
24Michael EvansBMW S1000RRHeattech Racing18:20.591
25Brandon CretuHonda CBR1000RR-RPenz13/Totem AI/Hel Performance18:22.865
26Mike BoothKawasaki ZX-10RR44Teeth.com18:25.301
27Stefano BonettiBMW S1000RRSpeed Motor18:26.252
28David DatzerBMW S1000RRMTP-Racing by Syntainics Penz1318:30.292
29David Jackson  18:30.757
30Mike GoodingsKawasaki ZX-10RLMT Motorsport18:31.249