WSB 2014: Jerez race 1 results

Aprilia Racing Team on top after race one

ITALIAN Marco Melandri took the race one win at Jerez after an action packed 20-lap race with Sylvain Guintoli and Chaz Davies taken second and third respectively.

It was Aprilia Racing’s Melandri and Guintoli who took to the front of the field with team-mates at play at turn 3.

Kawasaki Racing Team’s Loris Baz had found his way to the front by the end of lap four, however fellow Frenchman Guintoli took a charge at Baz and retook the lead four laps later and eased away with Ducati’s Davide Giugliano fronting the chasing pack.

Unfortunately it didn’t last much longer for Giugliano as he crashed out on the 11th lap allowing Melandri to take third whilst Kawasaki’s Sykes couldn’t improve on his 7th position after running of track.

Despite a promising start, Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Alex Lowes crashed out of 9th position followed by Loris Baz who crashed out shortly after due to contact with the rear end of Marco Melandri’s Aprilia.  

Aprilia Racing Team took two podium positions thanks to Melandri and Guintoli finishing first and second followed by Welshman Chaz Davies in third.

Isle of Man resident Jonathan Rea finished a respectable 4th whilst current World Champion Tom Sykes finished fifth followed by Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Eugene Laverty.

David Salom finished in 9th as top in the EVO class whilst Sylvain Barrier finished in tenth overall.

Race one results:

1. Marco Melandri ITA Aprilia Racing
2. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Aprilia Racing +1.397
3. Chaz Davies GBR Ducati Superbike Team +4.283
4. Jonathan Rea GBR PATA Honda World Superbike +5.705
5. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing +6.979
6. Eugene Laverty IRL Voltcom Crescent Suzuki +7.342
7. Leon Haslam GBR PATA Honda World Superbike +14.868
8. Toni Elias ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia +23.853
9. David Salom* ESP Kawasaki Racing +25.886
10. Sylvain Barrier* FRA BMW Italia +26.536
11. Jeremy Guarnoni* FRA MRS Kawasaki +41.308
12. Alessandro Andreozzi* ITA Pedercini Kawasaki +46.672
13. Sheridan Morais* RSA IRON BRAIN Kawasaki +48.742
14. Niccolo Canepa* ITA Althea Ducati +50.131
15. Claudio Corti ITA MV Agusta RC +1:03.677
16. Gabor Rizmayer* HUN Team Toth BMW +1:14.881
17. Geoff May USA Team Hero EBR +1:22.832
18. Imre Toth HUN Team Toth BMW +1:35.170 

DNF. Aaron Yates USA Team Hero EBR
DNF. Alex Lowes GBR Voltcom Crescent Suzuki 
DNF. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing
DNF. Davide Giugliano ITA Ducati Superbike Team
DNF. Bryan Staring* AUS IRON BRAIN Kawasaki