WSB 2014: Laguna Seca race 2 results

Two red flags and two restarts later...

TWO red flags and restarts later, Kawasaki’s Tom Sykes took the win after a 7-lap dash increasing his Championship lead whilst Sylvain Guintoli finished second in front of Pata Honda’s Jonathan Rea.

Sykes took the holeshot from the start as the rest shuffled around for their position. Guintoli and race one winner Marco Melandri filtered into second and third whilst Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Eugene Laverty, who was forced to retire from race one, had a rapid start making his way to fourth.

Guintoli made a move on Sykes at Turn 6 on lap 5, but the Kawasaki rider instantly fought back to regain his lead. As Guintoli recovered from the battle with Sykes, a slight mistake allowed his Aprilia team-mate Melandri to move up into second.

Drama on lap 11 as red flags were waived due to an incident involving Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Alex Lowes who had suffered a heavy crash at the Corkscrew. Lowes was taken straight to the medical centre, but fortunately escaped only battered and bruised – no fractures or breaks were found.

The race was restarted over an agreed 7-laps, but this restart only lasted one lap before red flags were out again.

BMW Motorrad Italia’s EVO rider Sylvain Barrier, who has only just returned after recovering from various injuries, crashed out on the start/finish straight. It was confirmed at the medical centre that Barrier has a dislocated and fracture left subtalar joint.

After another restart over 7-laps Sykes took the win leaving Guitonli on the second step of the podium followed by Rea due to Melandri crashing out of the lead who was then shortly followed by Davide Giugliano.

Race two results:

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing (only 7 laps completed) 
2. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Aprilia Racing +1.014
3. Jonathan Rea GBR PATA Honda World Superbike +2.793 
4. Eugene Laverty IRL Voltcom Crescent Suzuki +3.681
5. Toni Elias ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia +4.165
6. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing +7.160
7. Leon Haslam GBR PATA Honda World Superbike +7.331
8. David Salom* ESP Kawasaki Racing +15.061
9. Alessandro Andreozzi* ITA Pedercini Kawasaki +15.674
10. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC +17.015
11. Jeremy Guarnoni* FRA MRS Kawasaki +18.338
12. Bryan Staring* AUS IRON BRAIN Kawasaki +19.270
13. Sheridan Morais* RSA IRON BRAIN Kawasaki +20.040
14. Larry Pegram USA Foremost insurance EBR +23.845
15. Gabor Rizmayer HUN Team Toth BMW+25.592
16. Geoff May USA Team Hero EBR +26.688
17. Chris Ullrich USA GEICO Honda +31.893

DNF. Davide Giugliano ITA Ducati Superbike Team
DNF. Marco Melandri ITA Aprilia Racing
DNF. Niccolo Canepa* ITA Althea Ducati

Ayrton Badovini* ITA Bimota Alstare**
Christian Iddon* GBR Bimota Alstare** 

*= EVO class

**= Subject to homologation