WSB 2011: Assen Race Two Results

Race two results and highlights

WSB 2011: Assen Race Two Results

Carlos Checa continued his championship winning-form as he and Biaggi played a mental game in the second race at Assen. With the Aprilia mounting a serious assault on his first victory on the year, it came down the final lap with Checa reasserting his authority on the 2011 season to win his fourth race of the year.

Rea maintained podium success at the famous Dutch circuit, in a battle with Melandri, the Yamaha rider fell leaving the Castrol Honda of Rea to coast to third position. Leon Camier followed in fourth, where as a multiple rider tussle for fifth went to Leon Haslam and BMW, leading Laverty, Fabrizio, Haga, Smrz and Guintoli.

The points table sees Checa extend his lead to 132. After a difficult start to the season Biaggi got his championship defence underway moving in to second with 89 points and Melandri dropping to third on 85. With two podium finishes, Rea stepped up to fourth on 79 points.

1. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 35'38.693
2. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 35'39.217
3. Jonathan Rea (Castrol Honda) Honda CBR1000RR 35'42.277
4. Leon Camier (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 35'44.606
5. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 35'55.609
6. Eugene Laverty (Yamaha World Superbike Team) Yamaha YZF R1 35'56.068
7. Michel Fabrizio (Team Suzuki Alstare) Suzuki GSX-R1000 35'56.433
8. Noriyuki Haga (PATA Racing Team Aprilia) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 35'57.022
9. Jakub Smrz (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 35'57.071
10. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 35'57.097
11. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team Superbike) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36'04.977
12. Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36'05.746
13. Maxime Berger (Supersonic Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 36'17.307
14. Ruben Xaus (Castrol Honda) Honda CBR1000RR 36'19.517
15. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team) BMW S1000 RR 36'19.646
16. Roberto Rolfo (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36'19.675
17. Barry Veneman (BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team) BMW S1000 RR 36'24.116
18. Mark Aitchison (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36'45.657
RT. Marco Melandri (Yamaha World Superbike Team) Yamaha YZF R1 25'56.759
RT. Troy Corser (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 11'29.069

Sponsored Content