Thursday’s North West 200 race results

Seeley dominates once again increasing his total wins to tweleve

NORTHERN Ireland’s Alastair Seeley did the double yesterday after winning the Supersport and Superstock North West 200 races.

After Lee Johnston crashed at York hairpin on the first lap, Seeley was left to mount the curb to avoid crashing or injuring anyone else and was therefore was left behind in 16th on his Mar-train Yamaha whilst a leading group developed.

Despite having to bridge the gap back to the front, over six laps the ‘Wee Wizard’ caught up with the leading group – which included Milwaukee Yamaha’s Josh Brookes, Gary Johnson and the two Tyco Suzuki riders Guy Martin and William Dunlop – where he took his 11th win, but that wasn’t the last one of the day.

The 34-year-old also went on to win the Superstock race on the Mar-Train ZX-10 Kawasaki despite once again having to catch the leading group which consisted of Michael Rutter and Michael Dunlop who finished in second and third respectively.

Seeley said: “It is really nice to get my 12th win at the North West.” Seeley smiled as the celebrations began. I’m really looking forward to Saturday now.”

“I’ve been coming here for ten years and I’ve got lots of experience at working out the very latest braking spots here, especially at Juniper Hill chicane where it really matters.”

Speaking about the incident on the first lap of the Supersport race, Seeley explained: “I was 16th after that but I chased the pack down and slowly reeled the pack in.

“I made most of my time up on the brakes and got into the lead on the 5th lap.”

After a nightmare Supersport race for Lee Johnston, he came out on top in the Supertwin race followed by Ivan Lintin and James Cowton.

Johnston started on pole position on his Pirtek Kawasaki, but it was Lintin who took the early lead and appeared to be the one to beat until Johnston picked up the pace on the final lap passing the McKinstry Kawasaki rider at Juniper Hill.

“It is great to get my first road North West win and my first road race win, especially after the way the night had begun with the crash,” said Johnston.

Top ten Supersport result:

1.Alastair Seeley Mar-Train Racing Yamaha 27:55.540s ave. 115.335mph
2.Guy Martin Tyco Suzuki by TAS 27:56.692 (+1.152)
3.Josh Brookes Milwaukee Yamaha 27:57.449 (+1.909)
4.William Dunlop Tyco Suzuki 27:57.867 (+2.327)
5.Keith Amor Rig Deluge Honda 28:12.057 (+16.517)
6.Michael Rutter Smiths Triumph 28:12.215 (+16.675)
7.Gary Johnson Smiths Triumph 28:13.032 (+17.492)
8.Bruce Anstey Valvoline Racing by Padgetts 28:13.772 (+18.232)
9.Daniel Cooper Tsingtao WK Kawasaki 28:21.218 (+25.678)
10.James Hillier Quattro Plant Kawasaki/Muc-Off 28:25.862 (+30.322)

Top ten Supertwin result:

1.Lee Johnston ECC / Pirtek Kawasaki 19:55.411 ave. 107.632mph
2.Ivan Lintin McKinstry Racing Kawasaki 19:55.936 (+0.525)
3.James Cowton Kendo Racing Kawasaki 20:05.890 (+10.479)
4.James Hillier Quattro Plant Kawasaki/Muc-Off 20:06.520 (+11.109)
5.Jamie Hamilton Stewart Smith Racing 20:10.196 (+14.785)
6.Ryan Farquhar KMR / SGS International 20:10.266 (+14.855)
7.Martin Jessopp VRS Performance 20:11.321 (+15.910)
8.Jeremy McWilliams KMR / SGS International 20:31.883 (+36.472)
9.Paul Shoesmith Ice Valley by Motorsave 20:57.542 (+1:02.131)
10.Timothee Monot Kawasaki 650 20:57.614 (+1:02.203)

Top ten Superstock result:

1.Alastair Seely Mar-Train Racing 26:48.185 ave. 120.165mph
2.Michael Rutter Bathams BMW prize winning ales 26:48.756 (+0.571)
3.Michael Dunlop MD Racing BMW 26:48.990 (+0.805)
4.Martin Jessopp BMW Riders Motorcycles 26:51.293 (+3.108)
5.Horst Saiger Kawasaki 26:51.659 (+3.474)
6.Simon Andrews BMW Racing 27:03.836 (+15.651)
7.Conor Cummins RAF Reserves Honda 27:17.542 (+29.357)
8.Guy Martin Tyco Suzuki by TAS Racing 27:24.332 (+36.147)
9.Peter Hickman Ice Valley by Motorsave 27:24.629 (+36.444)
10.William Dunlop Tyco Suzuki by TAS Racing 27:27.475 (+39.290)