2022 Isle of Man TT [31 May] | Harrison, Todd raise benchmark to jump Hickman

Dean Harrison moved to the top of the 2022 Isle of Man TT classification with a new best lap of 131.767mph, marginally ahead of Davey Todd

Dean Harrison - DAO Racing Kawasaki ZX-10RR

Dean Harrison launched himself to the head of the timesheets on the third day of practice for the 2022 Isle of Man TT as three riders continued to establish themselves as the riders to beat in the Superbike class.

With Peter Hickman having become the first rider to crack the hallowed 130mph mark on Monday, he was joined and exceeded by both Harrison and Davey Todd during Tuesday evening’s session.

After falling just short of the ‘magic marker’ a day earlier, Harrison wasted no time in ramping up his pace aboard the DAO Racing KawasakI ZX-10RR, clocking a 130.369mph - just short of Hickman’s 130.719mph target - on his first revolution before leapfrogging his rival with a 131.767mph effort.

He was run close by Todd, however, the Milenco by Padgetts Honda rider continuing the impressive start to what is only his third TT appearance by posting a new personal best of 131.655mph.

His efforts also lifted him past Hickman on the timesheets, the Louth rider having otherwise spent his evening focusing on the Gas Monkey FHO BMW in Superstock trim, topping that class with a 130.695mph lap.

It means a small but noticeable margin has begun to open betwen the top three and the chasing pack, headed up by fourth place man Michael Dunlop, the Hawk Suzuki rider circulating in a 129.119mph best.

Todd’s team-mate Conor Cummins made sizeable gains from Monday with a 128.761mph lap to  move into fifth place, meaning both privateer Padgetts Honda bikes lead the factory Honda effort, John McGuinness holding down sixth overall with a 128.644mph lap.

He is followed up by KTS Racing’s Jamie Coward in seventh and Milwaukee BMW’s Ian Hutchinson in eighth. Sam West - who was involved in an accident on Monday - remains ninth overall, with Dominic Herbertson rounding out the top ten.

Meanwhile, Glenn Irwin continued his TT acclimatisation with a new personal best lap of 124.947mph.

In the Superstock class, Hickman now heads the timesheets as the only stock rider to exceed 130mph, followed by Todd, Coward, Cummins and Harrison.

In the Supersport class, Dunlop turned in the quickest time on his MD Racing Yamaha R6 (125.938mph), comfortably ahead of Harrison on the DAO Kawasaki ZX-6R on 124.817mph. Lee Johnston holds down third position, ahead of Coward and James Hillier on their respective Yamaha machines.

In the Supertwins class, Coward consolidated his strong showing in the Superbike and Supersport classes by leading the way among the rebranded ‘Lightweight’ bikes aboard his Kawasaki Z650.

Just falling shy of 120mph with his 119.775mph lap, he got the better of Hickman on the VAS Engine Racing Paton (118.983mph), with Rob Hodson (Kawasaki), Johnston (Aprilia) and Gary Johnson (Kawasaki) completing the top five.

Finally, the Sidecars made their belated debut after being bumped from Monday’s interrupted schedule with pre-TT favourites Brian and Tom Birchill leading the way with a 115.663mph lap.

After a slew of accidents on Monday evening, there was just one notable incident on the Mountain involving Dave Moffitt, who fell at Laurel Bank. He was airlifted to Noble’s Hospital, but is reported to be as conscious.

Meanwhile, all five riders hospitalised on Monday have now been discharged.

2022 Isle of Man TT - Top 30 SUPERBIKE Qualifying LAPS (Tuesday, May 31)
1Dean HarrisonKawasaki ZX-10RRDAO Racing Kawasaki17:10.817
2Davey ToddHonda CBR1000RR-RMilenco by Padgett's Motorcycles17:11.695
3Dean HarrisonKawasaki ZX-10RRDAO Racing Kawasaki17:21.871
4Michael DunlopSuzuki GSXR1000Hawk Racing17:31.956
5Peter HickmanBMW M1000RRGas Monkey Garage by FHO Racing17:33.159
6Conor CumminsHonda CBR1000RR-RMilenco by Padgett's Motorcycles17:35.210
7John McGuinnessHonda CBR1000RR-R SPHonda Racing UK17:35.842
8Jamie CowardYamaha YZF-R1KTS Racing powered by Steadplan17:41.685
9Ian HutchinsonBMW M1000RRMilwaukee BMW Motorrad17:43.515
10Ian HutchinsonBMW M1000RRMilwaukee BMW Motorrad17:44.617
11Jamie CowardYamaha YZF-R1KTS Racing powered by Steadplan17:49.165
12John McGuinnessHonda CBR1000RR-R SPHonda Racing UK17:50.029
13Dominic HerbertsonBMW S1000RRGilbert Brown & Son17:53.421
14Derek SheilsBMW S1000RRRoadhouse Macau Racing17:54.579
15Shaun AndersonSuzuki GSX-R1000RCrendon Suzuki by Hawk Racing17:55.225
16James HIllierYamaha YZF-R1NRICH Energy OMG Racing17:55.374
17Conor CumminsHonda CBR1000RR-RMilenco by Padgett's Motorcycles17:55.524
18James HIllierYamaha YZF-R1NRICH Energy OMG Racing17:56.192
19Shaun AndersonSuzuki GSX-R1000RCrendon Suzuki by Hawk Racing17:58.189
20Dominic HerbertsonBMW S1000RRGilbert Brown & Son18:00.986
21Derek SheilsBMW S1000RRRoadhouse Macau Racing18:01.535
22Glenn Irwin*Honda CBR1000RR-R SPHonda Racing UK18:07.082
23Michael RutterBMW M1000RRBathams Ales18:09.612
24Brian McCormackBMW M1000RRFHO Racing BMW /The Roadhouse Macau18:10.073
25Michael RutterBMW M1000RRBathams Ales18:10.973
26Paul JordanYamaha YZF-R1PreZ Racing by Prosper²18:11.946
27Glenn Irwin*Honda CBR1000RR-R SPHonda Racing UK18:12.069
28Mike BrowneSuzuki GSX-R1000Burrows Engineering / RK Racing18:13.411
29Paul JordanYamaha YZF-R1PreZ Racing by Prosper²18:14.691
30Rob HodsonKawasaki ZX-10RRDafabet Racing18:16.407