Sepang MotoGP Shakedown Results: Pol Espargaro completes KTM whitewash

Pol Espargaro beats his brother Aleix to the top time on the final day of MotoGP shakedown testing, while Jorge Lorenzo makes his Yamaha return

Pol Espargaro - KTM Factory Racing

Pol Espargaro topped the timesheets on the third and final day of MotoGP shakedown testing at Sepang, setting KTM up nicely for this week’s official test at the same circuit.

With test rider Dani Pedrosa leading the way for KTM on days one and two, the Spaniard’s absence paved the way for the Austrian manufacturer’s lead representative Espargaro to take over at the head of the leaderboard.

Setting a 1m 59.444s lap, Espargaro’s effort on the revised KTM RC16 was the quickest of the three day test, which is reserved for test riders, rookies and teams with performance concessions (KTM, Aprilia).

Joining his brother at the lofty end of the timesheets, Aleix Espargaro took over from Bradley Smith to get his first taste of the 2020 Aprilia RS-GP with back-to-back tests alongside the 2019 machine.

Miguel Oliveira was on the pace with the third quickest time aboard the Tech 3 KTM, ahead of Ducati test rider Michele Pirro, factory KTM rider Brad Binder and Stefan Bradl, who shouldered the Honda workload in the absence of Alex Marquez, who had travelled to Indonesia for the 2020 Repsol Honda launch.

Mika Kallio took over from Dani Pedrosa to set the seventh best time, while Jorge Lorenzo marked his return to Yamaha machinery with the eighth best time after completing 44 laps.

Sylvain Guintoli and Iker Lecuona completed the top ten.

Sepang MotoGP Shakedown Test – RESULTS [Day 3]

IRTA Sepang MotoGP Shakedown - Testing Results [Day 3]
1Pol EspargaroESPRed Bull KTM Factory1m 59.444
2Aleix EspargaroESPAprilia Racing Gresini1m 59.622
3Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech 31m 59.748
4Michele Pirro [1]ITADucati Team1m 59.922
5Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory2m 00.099
6Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda Team2m 00.441
7Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory2m 00.472
8Jorge LorenzoESPYamaha Factory Racing2m 00.563
9Sylvain GuintoliFRATeam Suzuki Ecstar2m 00.655
10Iker LecuonaESPRed Bull KTM Tech 32m 01.659
11Yamaha Test Rider 1-Yamaha Factory Racing2m 01.908
12Michel Pirro [2]ITADucati Team2m 02.113
13Yamaha Test Rider 3-Yamaha Factory Racing2m 02.704
14Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Racing Gresini2m 02.805
15Yamaha Test Rider 2-Yamaha Factory Racing2m 02.843