MotoGP 2011: Qatar Results

Full results from the opening race at the Losail circuit

Casey Stoner opened the 2011 MotoGP season with a perfect start on the Repsol Honda taking the victory at Qatar.

The 2007 champion boosted his Losail winning tally to four followed across the line by Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa.

Jorge Lorenzo split the Honda white wash of the top positions turning a worrying two days behind him to take second, the reigning champion took advantage of a slowing Pedrosa with some calculated passes. After losing the lead to Stoner, Dani was unable to match the pace of the number 27 Repsol Honda and appeared struggle in the latter stages, the third-placed Spaniard complained of arm-pump issues in Parc Ferme.

Andrea Dovizioso got the better of an all-race battle with the Gresini Honda mounted Marco Simoncelli, the riders taking fourth and fifth respectively. The second factory Yamaha of Ben Spies had the carbon discs glowing in to turn one to dispose of Valentino Rossi on his first race on the Ducati to take sixth.

The top ten was rounded out by Colin Edwards, Nicky Hayden and Hiro Aoyama. Cal Crutchlow in his rookie race on the Tech 3 Yamaha got the better of Hector Barbera in a last lap tussle to the chequered flag.

With only 16 riders taking to the grid for the opening round with Alvaro Bautista breaking a femur in a free practice crash, the race saw only 13 riders finish the race with Randy de Puniet taking the honours of the first race crasher of 2011.

Full results:

1. Casey Stoner (AUS) Repsol Honda Team 42'38.569
2. Jorge Lorenzo (SPA) Yamaha Factory Racing + 3.440
3. Dani Pedrosa (SPA) Repsol Honda Team + 5.051
4. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA) Repsol Honda Team + 5.942
5. Marco Simoncelli (ITA) San Carlo Honda Gresini + 7.358
6. Ben Spies (USA) Yamaha Factory Racing + 10.468
7. Valentino Rossi (ITA) Ducati Team + 16.431
8. Colin Edwards (USA) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 + 26.293
9. Nicky Hayden (USA) Ducati Team + 27.416
10. Hiroshi Aoyama (JPN) San Carlo Honda Gresini + 28.920
11. Cal Crutchlow (GBR) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 + 34.539
12. Hector Barbera (SPA) Aspar Team + 34.829
13. Karel Abraham (CZE) Cardion AB Motoracing + 37.957
14. Toni Elias (SPA) LCR Honda MotoGP Not classified (4 laps)
15. Loris Capirossi (ITA) Pramac Racing Team Not classified (21 laps)
16. Randy De Puniet (FRA) Pramac Racing Team Not classified (22 laps)