Austin MotoGP - Race Results

Race results from the 2019 Americas MotoGP at COTA in Austin, Texas, round 3 of 19.
Austin MotoGP - Race Results

Rins takes his first ever MotoGP victory after overtaking and then narrowly holding off Rossi in the Austin MotoGP, marking Suzuki's first win since 2016.

Marquez fell while holding a 3.6s lead after losing the front of his Honda at the end of the back straight, destroying his hopes of a 7th successive COTA victory and handing the lead to Rossi, who kept Rins at bay until three laps to go.

Miller completed the podium, his first ever in the dry, while Dovizioso takes over the championship lead from 13th on the grid!

Vinales and Mir were hit with jump-start penalties, Vinales wrongly taking the 'Long Lap' loop before serving the correct pit-lane Ride Through penalty.

Crutchlow fell while putting Rossi under pressure for what was then second place, early in the race.

Lorenzo suffered another technical problem, possibly a repeat of the chain jumping from the sprocket.

CLICK HERE for live updates

  1. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 41m 45.499s
  2. Valentino Rossi ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 41m 45.961s
  3. Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP19) 41m 53.953s
  4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Mission Winnow Ducati (GP19) 41m 54.919s
  5. Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1) 42m 3.520s
  6. Danilo Petrucci ITA Mission Winnow Ducati (GP19) 42m 6.975s
  7. Fabio Quartararo FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1)* 42m 11.610s
  8. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 42m 15.242s
  9. Francesco Bagnaia ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18)* 42m 16.107s
  10. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 42m 16.510s
  11. Maverick Viñales ESP Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 42m 19.576s
  12. Andrea Iannone ITA Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 42m 20.278s
  13. Johann Zarco FRA Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 42m 27.957s
  14. Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)* 42m 29.771s
  15. Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia Ducati (GP18) 42m 30.122s
  16. Karel Abraham CZE Reale Avintia Ducati (GP18) 42m 30.239s
  17. Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 42m 33.562s
  18. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16) 42m 53.182s
    Jorge Lorenzo ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) DNF
    Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) DNF
    Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) DNF
    Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) DNF

* Rookie.