WorldSBK Aragon FP Results | Rea stays top as season officially gets underway

Jonathan Rea tops the first day of WorldSBK free practice at Motorland Aragon, holding off Alvaro Bautista and Toprak Razgatlioglu ahead of Spanish opener

Alvaro Bautista - Ducati Panigale V4 R

Jonathan Rea topped the timesheets on the opening day of action for the new 2022 WorldSBK season, the six-time champion continuing where he left off from pre-season testing.

One of the Ulsterman’s more successful venues, Rea opened up his 2021 campaign with a trio of victories on the Kawasaki ZX-10RR and will be eyeing a similarly perfect start to the new season as he looks to reclaim his crown from Toprak Razgatlioglu.

By contrast, the Turk has a less impressive repertoire in Aragon but was only 0.3s shy of his arch rival in third position, the pair split by the Ducati of Alvaro Bautista, who was quickest in the afternoon’s FP2 session but unable to dislodge Rea’s FP1 benchmark.

Garrett Gerloff led the factory contingent as the top independent, the American ending the day leading the second of the factory Ducati and Kawasaki riders in Michael Ruben Rinaldi and Alex Lowes, while Loris Baz headed up the BMW challenge in a strong seventh for the Bonovo Action outfit.

Andrea Locatelli rounded out the top eight, ahead of surprise package Roberto Tamburini, who built on the promise of his first outing only earlier in the week to set the ninth best time of the day on the Motoxracing Yamaha R1.

Iker Lecuona completed the top ten as the best of the Honda riders, nudging out Philipp Oettl (Go Eleven Ducati) and the impressive Ilya Mikhalchik, - substitute for the injured Michael van der Mark - who ended the day up on Scott Redding, only 16th on the factory BMW M 1000 RR.

The only major incident to come on day one of the season was a wild tumble for Lucas Mahias at Turn 2, the Frenchman walking away uninjured but doing a significant amount of damage to his Puccetti Kawasaki.

 2022 WorldSBK Championship | Motorland Aragon, Spain | FP1+FP2 Results

2022 WorldSBK Championship | Motorland Aragon, Spain | FP1+FP2 Results | Round 1 / 12
PosRiderNat.WorldSBK TeamSuperbikeTiming
1Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 49.301
2Alvaro BautistaESPAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R1m 49.606
3Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata YamahaYamaha R11m 49.665
4Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha TeamYamaha R11m 49.900
5Michael Ruben RinaldiITAAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R1m 50.000
6Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 50.010
7Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMWBMW M 1000 RR1m 50.336
8Andrea LocatelliITAPata YamahaYamaha R11m 50.442
9Roberto TamburiniITAMotoxracing TeamYamaha R11m 50.501
10Iker LecuonaESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 50.540
11Philipp OettlGERTeam GoElevenDucati Panigale V4 R1m 50.641
12Ilya MikhalchikUKRBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M 1000 RR1m 50.706
13Xavi ViergeESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 50.787
14Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1m 50.856
15Eugene LavertyIRLBonovo Action BMWBMW M 1000 RR1m 50.945
16Scott ReddingGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M 1000 RR1m 51.108
17Lucas MahiasFRAPuccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 51.115
18Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha TeamYamaha R11m 51.118
19Luca BernardiSMRBarni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1m 51.329
20Gabriele RuiuITABMax RacingBMW M 1000 RR1m 52.077
21Christophe PonssonFRAGil Motor SportYamaha R11m 52.794
22Oliver KonigCZEOrelac VerdNaturaKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 52.981
23Leandro MercadoARGMIE Racing TeamHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 53.143
24Hafizh SyahrinMALMIE Racing TeamHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 53.247
25Loris CressonBELTPR Pedercini RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 54.885