Razgatlioglu wins, first podium for Redding | Donington WorldSBK SP Race Results

Toprak Razgatlioglu came into the WorldSBK Superpole Race at Donington as the most recent 10-lap winner, and fresh from winning the Saturday race in the UK.

Toprak Razgatlioglu, 2022 Donington WorldSBK. - Gold and Goose

Toprak Razgatkioglu was victorious for the second time of WorldSBK's 2022 visit to Donington Park in Sunday morning's Superpole Race, finishing ahead of Jonathan Rea and Scott Redding.

Despite his loss in race one to Toprak Razgatlioglu, Jonathan Rea started from pole position - courtesy of his fastest time in the Superpole session on Saturday morning - for the WorldSBK Superpole Race from Donington Park.

The cooler conditions of Sunday morning compared to Saturday afternoon meant that there was the potential for a much different race to that seen the day before, which was dominated by the aforementioned Razgatlioglu.

Christophe Ponsson missed the Superpole Race after being declared unfit with a right shoulder injury sustained in the first long race of the weekend on Saturday.

Razgatlioglu picked up from where he left off on Saturday in the early stages of the Superpole Race. He mad the holeshot, and led the early running ahead of Rea and Scott Redding.

Razgatlioglu was able to break the lap record - held since the 2019 Superpole Race by Jonathan Rea - with a 1:26.767, which allowed him to extend his advantage at the front to over one second.

As the race entered the final three laps, the main battle on track was between Scott Redding and Alex Lowes for third place, although the two factory Ducatis of Alvaro Bautista and Michael Ruben Rinaldi were also in close attendance.

Lowes made his first move at the penultimate corner on lap eight, and completed the move at the final corner. At turn one on the next lap, though, Redding fought back, and Lowes found himself with the work to do all over again.

The fighting between Redding and Lowes brought Bautista closer into the fight as the final lap began, and in fact Lowes found himself with defence as the priority over attack. 

Bautista was able to find his way through at the Foggy Esses on the final lap, a move to which Lowes was unable to respond. 

At the front, Razgatlioglu was unchallenged, and took a dominant second win of the weekend, and his second successive sprint race win. Jonathan Rea took another relatively comfortable second place, while Scott Redding confirmed his first podium with BMW. 

The late pass for Bautista on Lowes brought the championship leader an extra point. That means his championship lead over Jonathan Rea ahead of the second long race of the weekend later on Sunday stands at 13 points, while his gap to Razgatlioglu is cut from 54 to 48.

2022 WorldSBK Championship | Donington Park, UK | Superpole Race RESULTS

2022 WorldSBK Championship | Donington Park, UK | Superpole Race RESULTS | Round 5 / 12
PosRiderNat.WorldSBK TeamSuperbikeTiming
1Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata YamahaYamaha R110 Laps
2Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+1.089
3Scott ReddingGBRBMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+3.889
4Alvaro BautistaESPAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+4.970
5Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+5.244
6Michael Ruben RinaldiITAAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+6.282
7Iker LecuonaESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+8.665
8Andrea LocatelliITAPata YamahaYamaha R1+10.445
9Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMWBMW M 1000 RR+10.802
10Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha TeamYamaha R1+12.491
11Philipp OettlESPTeam GoElevenDucati Panigale V4 R+12.558
12Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+18.053
13Leon HaslamGBRTPR Pedercini RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+21.953
14Lucas MahiasFRAPuccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+24.090
15Xavi ViergeESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+24.540
16Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR+26.834
17Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha TeamYamaha R1+27.400
18Ilya MikhalchikUKRBMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+27.958
19Hafizh SyahrinMALMIE Racing TeamHonda CBR1000RR-R+29.595
20Leandro MercadoARGMIE Racing TeamHonda CBR1000RR-R+29.653
21Roberto TamburiniITAMotoxracing TeamYamaha R1+30.394
22Luca BernardiSMRBarni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+30.658
23Eugene LavertyIRLBonovo Action BMWBMW M 1000 RR+30.881
24Oliver KonigCZEOrelac VerdNaturaKawasaki ZX-10RR+32.678
DNFTarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS YamahaYamaha R1 
DNSChristophe PonssonFRAGil Motor SportYamaha R1