Misano WorldSBK Race 2 Results | Alvaro Bautista extends lead with sixth win

Alvaro Bautista extends his WorldSBK Championship lead to 36 points with a sixth victory of the season at Misano from Toprak Razgatlioglu

Alvaro Bautista - Aruba.it Ducati

Alvaro Bautista moved further clear at the head of the 2022 WorldSBK Championship standings with another resounding victory in the second race of the weekend in Misano.

After romping to victory in Race 1 following a tussle with Jonathan Rea, the Ducati rider squared up against Toprak Razgatlioglu for honours in Race 2 but would prove too strong for the Turk as he sprinted home a clear seven second winner.

Buoyed by his return to the winners’ circle in the Superpole Race, Razgatlioglu powered into an early lead by getting the hole-shot into Turn 1 before repelling a pass by Bautista mid-way around the opening lap at Curvone to complete the opening lap in front.

Despite briefly slipping to third as Rea piled into the action, Bautista quickly returned the favour on the Kawasaki rider before resuming his efforts against Razgatlioglu ahead.

While a first attempt at passing on lap four was met with the gritty response from Razgatlioglu as he surged back past at Turn 14, a cool Bautista maintained the pressure on his rival, eventually landing a decisive pass for the lead on lap seven.

From here the Spaniard wasn’t headed again, with Razgatlioglu’s attempts to go with him coming up short as the Ducati rider multiplied his advantage to victory by a clear margin by the flag.

A sixth win in 12 races for the ex-MotoGP rider, Bautista comes away from Misano having now scored a victory in each of the opening four rounds. 

Coupled with Rea finishing off the podium in fourth place, the margin between the pair has swelled to 36 points.

After losing yet more ground in the title race with an untimely technical DNF in Race 1, a win and a second place on Sunday helped Razgatlioglu end the weekend positively, though he remains a sizeable 74 points adrift of Bautista now.

Michael Ruben Rinaldi recovered for his second podium finish of the weekend, the Italian’s strong start rewarded with a scalp over Rea, who after losing third to the Ducati rider early on, had to settle for fourth.

Iker Lecuona completed a brace of Sunday fifth place finishes on the Honda, the Spaniard making up for Xavi Vierge crashing out of sixth position on lap 11 after an apparent collision with Axel Bassani, the Motocorsa Racing rider staying upright to finish seventh behind Andrea Locatelli.

Alex Lowes was on course for sixth before a long lap penalty for track limit violations demoted him to eighth, with Scott Redding and Loris Baz completing the top ten for BMW.

2022 WorldSBK Championship | Misano, Italy | Race 2 RESULTS

2022 WorldSBK Championship | Misano, Italy | Race 2 RESULTS | Round 4 / 12
PosRiderNat.WorldSBK TeamSuperbikeTiming
1Alvaro BautistaESPAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R21 Laps
2Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata YamahaYamaha R1+7.194
3Michael Ruben RinaldiITAAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+11.119
4Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+14.901
5Iker LecuonaESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+18.774
6Andrea LocatelliITAPata YamahaYamaha R1+20.217
7Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+21.149
8Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+23.533
9Scott ReddingGBRBMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+29.638
10Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMWBMW M 1000 RR+38,831
11Philipp OettlESPTeam GoElevenDucati Panigale V4 R+40,881
12Roberto TamburiniITAMotoxracing TeamYamaha R1+41.588
13Luca BernardiSMRBarni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+43.353
14Eugene LavertyIRLBonovo Action BMWBMW M 1000 RR+43.833
15Ilya MikhalchikUKRBMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+44.697
16Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha TeamYamaha R1+49.375
17Tito RabatFRAPuccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+1 >
18Leandro MercadoARGMIE Racing TeamHonda CBR1000RR-R+1 >
19Oliver KonigCZEOrelac VerdNaturaKawasaki ZX-10RR 
DNFHafizh SyahrinMALMIE Racing TeamHonda CBR1000RR-R 
DNFAlessandro DelbiancoITATPR Pedercini RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR 
DNFGabriele RuiuITABMax RacingBMW M 1000 RR 
DNFGarrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha TeamYamaha R1 
DNFXavi ViergeESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R 
DNSChristophe PonssonFRAGil Motor SportYamaha R1