Updated MotoGP calendar announced

With the postponement of Thailand and cancellation of Qatar, a new 2020 MotoGP calendar has been released by Dorna

Valencia MotoGP start

A revised 2020 MotoGP calendar has been announced after the cancellation of the MotoGP class from the opening rounds and the postponement of the Thai round until later in the year.

The changes to the calendar have been made in response to the global threat of COVID-19, a virus that originated in China and has now spread to Europe and North America.

With the Moto2 and Moto3 teams already in Qatar from a pre-season test, it was judged safe to keep them there in anticipation of the start of the season. With so many of the MotoGP teams, riders and Dorna staff hailing from Spain and Italy, two countries that have been more affected by the illness, it was agreed best to ask them to remain at home.

As a result, the MotoGP class will not run at the opening Qatar round, with the Moto2 class being promoted to the primetime evening race slot, competing under the lights in anger for the first time.

Another round affected by the outbreak is the Thai MotoGP round at the Chang International Circuit. Scheduled to take place 22nd March, that round has been postponed until the end of the season, now set to take place 4th October.

A full and confirmed MotoGP calendar can be found below.

All dates correct at time of publishing.

2020 MotoGP calendar - UPDATED


Grand prix


08 March

Qatar* (Moto2&Moto3 only)

Losail International Circuit

05 April


Circuit of the Americas

19 April

Republica Argentina

Termas de Rio Hondo

03 May


Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto

17 May


Le Mans

31 May


Autodromo del Mugello

07 June


Barcelona - Catalunya

21 June



28 June


TT Circuit Assen

12 July



09 August

Czech Republic

Automotodrom Brno

16 August


Red Bull Ring-Spielberg

30 August

Great Britain


13 September

San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini

Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli

27 September


MotorLand Aragón

04 October


Chang International Circuit

18 October


Twin Ring Motegi

25 October


Philip Island

01 November


Sepang International Circuit

15 November

Comunitat Valenciana

Comunitat Valenciana-Ricardo Tormo

*Night race