Sepang MotoGP Test Results: Fabio Quartararo quickest on 2020 Yamaha

Fabio Quartararo sets the quickest time on the second day of pre-season testing aboard the 2020 Petronas SRT Yamaha

Fabio Quartararo - Petronas SRT Yamaha

Fabio Quartararo notched up the quickest time for the second day in a row at Sepang as MotoGP pre-season testing continued in Malaysia.

Having spent the day one rediscovering his rhythm on the 2019-spec Petronas SRT Yamaha, Quartararo made his debut on the 2020 bike this time. Spending much of the day at the bottom end of the top ten, a fast lap towards the end of the day saw him spear to the head of the timesheets.

That denied Jack Miller the top time, the Australian instead ending the day as the quickest Ducati rider once again in second position.

Dani Pedrosa showed he has not lost any of his pace as he put the KTM RC16 third on the timesheets, just 0.090secs slower than Quartararo, ahead of top Suzuki rider Joan Mir, Petronas SRT’s Franco Morbidelli and top factory Yamaha rider Maverick VInales.

Alex Rins was seventh best, ahead of Pol Espargaro, Marc Marquez – still contending with injury – and Valentino Rossi

2020 Sepang MotoGP Testing – RESULTS [Day 2/3]

Official Sepang MotoGP Test - Results [Day 2/3]
1Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas SRT Yamaha1m 58.572
2Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati1m 58.641
3Dani PedrosaESPRed Bull KTM Factory1m 58.662
4Joan MirESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar1m 58.731
5Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas SRT Yamaha1m 58.831
6Maverick VinalesESPYamaha Factory Racing1m 58.893
7Alex RinsESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar1m 58.978
8Pol EspargaroESPRed Bull KTM Factory1m 58.989
9Marc MarquezESPRepsol Honda Team1m 59.097
10Valentino RossiITAYamaha Factory Racing1m 59.116
11Aleix EspargaroESPAprilia Racing Gresini1m 59.224
12Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda1m 59.247
13Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team1m 59.257
14Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati1m 59.313
15Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team1m 59.342
16Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech 31m 59.365
17Alex MarquezESPRepsol Honda Team1m 59.661
18Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory1m 59.780
19Johann ZarcoFRAAvintia Ducati1m 59.825
20Tito RabatESPAvintia Ducati2m 00.189
21Sylvain GuintoliFRATeam Suzuki Ecstar2m 00.286
22Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda2m 00.347
23Iker LecuonaESPRed Bull KTM Tech 32m 00.396
24Yamaha Test Rider 2-Yamaha Factory Racing2m 00.791
25Yamaha Test Rider 1-Yamaha Factory Racing2m 00.920
26Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Racing Gresini2m 01.119
-Michele PirroITADucati Team 
-Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory-
-Takuya TsudaJPNTeam Suzuki Ecstar-
-Yamaha Test Rider 3-Yamaha Factory Racing-
 Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Racing Gresini-