Sepang MotoGP test II times - Day 1

No Marquez, but another Spaniard on a Honda tops the time sheets - Bautista.

WITH Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez absent from the second Sepang test due to a broken leg, GO&FUN Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista set a best lap time of 2:00.848 1.3 seconds slower than the time Marquez set in the first Sepang test.

Aleix Espargaro impressed once again showing the potential of the NGM Forward Racing Yamaha as he finished the day in second only 0.052s behind fellow Spaniard Bautista.

Pol Espargaro finished 0.099s behind his older brother Aleix and only 0.15s off Bautista's time. The Tech 3 Yamaha rookie also finished ahead of his team-mate Bradley Smith by over 0.6s.

Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso finished in fourth where development work on the GP14 continued. Cal Crutchlow finished in 11th after working on overall set-up and engine characteristics. It is still uncertain whether Ducati will run ‘Open’ class or not, but an announcement is expected before they leave Malaysia.

The Factory Yamaha riders, Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi, finished the first day fifth and seventh respectively. Although concerns were vocalised, the team do not think fuel consumption during races will be an issue regardless of only being allowed 20 litres.

Dani Pedrosa, the only Repsol Honda rider present at the second Sepang test, finished in sixth 0.3s off Bautista’s pace.  

Final times at the end of Day 1 of the second Sepang test:

1. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini 2:00.848
2. Aleix Espargaro ESP NGM Mobile Forward Racing* 2:00.900 (+0.052)
3. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:00.999 (+0.151)
4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team 2:01.029 (+0.181)
5. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing 2:01.158 (+0.310)
6. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team 2:01.160 (+0.312)
7. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing 2:01.349 (+0.501)
8. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP 2:01.491 (+0.643)
9. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:01.644 (+0.796)
10. Nicky Hayden USA Drive M7 Aspar* 2:02.227 (+1.379)
11. Cal Crutchlow GBR Ducati Team 2:02.319 (+1.471)
12. Andrea Iannone ITA Pramac Racing 2:02.334 (+1.486)
13. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Drive M7 Aspar* 2:02.709 (+1.861)
14. Colin Edwards USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing* 2:02.743 (+1.895)
15. Yonny Hernandez COL Pramac Racing* 2:02.823 (+1.975)
16. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens* 2:02.975 (+2.127)
17. Randy De Puniet FRA Suzuki Test Rider** 2:03.341 (+2.493)
18. Scott Redding GBR Go&Fun Honda Gresini* 2:03.553 (+2.705)
19. Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Test Rider** 2:03.991 (+3.143)
20. Katsuyuki Nakasuga JPN Yamaha Test Rider** 2:04.165 (+3.317)
21. Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Blusens* 2:04.885 (+4.037)
22. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing* 2:05.638s (+4.790)
23. Nobuatsu Aoki JPN Suzuki Test Rider** 2:07.302 (+6.454) 

* = Open Class

** = Test rider