Malaysian MotoGP Free Practice Results: Quartararo destroys lap record

Malaysian MotoGP Free Practice Results - Sepang - Fabio Quartararo destroys the opposition with stunning lap record pace in FP1 and FP2

Fabio Quartararo - Petronas SRT Yamaha

Fabio Quartararo laid down the gauntlet to his rivals with a stunning performance on ‘home soil’ as he dominated free practice for the Malaysian MotoGP at Sepang.

One of the few circuits he knows well on a MotoGP machine having tested at the Sepang circuit prior to what would become a sensational rookie season, the Frenchman demonstrated why he is one of the favourites for race victory by smashing the lap record in FP1 and doing it again in FP2.

Stopping the clocks at 1m 58.576, he was a full half-second quicker than the opposition by the time the chequered flag came out, this despite having a potentially even quicker final effort denied when he was baulked by Hafizh Syharin.

On the day Yamaha confirmed he will be upgraded to an A-spec M1 in 2020, he led a Petronas SRT 1-2 from Franco Morbidelli, the pair impressing around the circuit that essentially funds the Malaysian team.

With Maverick Vinales – who didn’t attempt a soft tyre lap in FP2 - and Valentino Rossi fourth and fifth, Andrea Dovizioso was the only rider to penetrate the Yamaha stronghold in third position. 

Champion Marc Marquez continued his ‘against the grain’ strategy of focusing on race pace and relying on his FP1 time to leave him sixth on the timesheets, ahead of Suzuki’s Alex Rins, Jack Miller and Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro, while Cal Crutchlow picked up the last remaining provisional Q2 spot in tenth.

Johann Zarco was 14th quickest on the LCR Honda, though stood to be placed in the top ten potentially after losing out on a quick final lap when he crashed at turn one. 

Malaysian MotoGP Free Practice Results [Combined]

Malaysian MotoGP - Sepang Free Practice Results [Combined]
1Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha YZR-M11m 58.576
2Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha YZR-M11m 59.110
3Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team GP191m 59.206
4Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha YZR-M11m 59.218
5Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha YZR-M11m 49.284
6Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda RC213V1m 59.517
7Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar GSX-RR1m 59.546
8Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati GP191m 59.593
9Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini RS-GP1m 59.707
10Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda RC213V1m 59.711
11Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati GP18 1m 59.774
12Joan MirESPSuzuki Ecstar GSX-RR 1m 59.984
13Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team GP192m 00.057
14Johann ZarcoFRALCR IDEMITSU Honda RC213V2m 00.268
15Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati GP182m 00.477
16Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory RC162m 00.658
17Jorge LorenzoESPRepsol Honda RC213V2m 00.705
18Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini RS-GP2m 01.172
19Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 RC162m 01.579
20Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory RC162m 01.959