Final 2016 MotoGP calendar released

All 18 rounds have now been confirmed

THE FIM and Dorna have released the official and final calendar for the 2016 MotoGP World Championship. 

Minimal changes have been made since the provisional calendar as the British round is still set to take place at the beginning of September as opposed to July which was seen in the first provisional 2016 calendar.

The British Grand Prix has moved to 17th July, but it will remain at Silverstone. The movement of the British Grand Prix allows British Superbikes to move Cadwell Park back to the August Bank Holiday.

Brno and Jerez are no longer subject to contract and all 18 rounds have been confirmed. 

The final 2016 calendar released has confirmed the addition of Austria’s Red Bull Ring in August in place of Indianapolis.

The usual season opener is at the Losail International Circuit in Qatar next month whilst Valencia continues to end the season in November.

Below is the final version of the 2016 MotoGP World Championship calendar:

RoundDateGrand PrixVenue
120/03Qatar*Losail International Circuit
203/04ArgentinaTermas de Río Hondo
310/04AmericasCircuit Of The Americas
424/04SpainCircuito de Jerez
508/05FranceLe Mans
622/05ItalyAutodromo del Mugello
826/06NetherlandsTT Circuit Assen
1014/08AustriaRed Bull Ring - Spielberg
1121/08Czech RepublicAutomotodrom Brno
1204/09Great BritainSilverstone Circuit
1311/09San Marino e della Riviera di RiminiMisano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
1425/09AragonMotorLand Aragon
1516/10JapanTwin Ring Motegi
1623/10AustraliaPhillip Island
1730/10MalaysiaSepang International Circuit
1813/11ValenciaComunitat Valenciana - Ricardo Tormo