Argentina MotoGP postponed as WorldSBK calendar shuffled too

There looks to be no MotoGP or WorldSBK racing for the foreseeable future as both series are forced to postpone their upcoming rounds again

Argentina MotoGP

Just 24 hours after it became the de facto 2020 MotoGP opener in the wake of COTA’s postponement to the end of the year, now the Argentina round at Termas Rio Hondo has been moved to November due to the ongoing coronavirus crisis.

In addition, the 2020 WorldSBK schedule has also been tweaked with the upcoming ‘third round’ in Jerez moved towards the end of the year.

Though Argentina organisers had stressed its event was due to go ahead on April 17-19, today’s postponement of an equivalent MXGP event suggested a new policy on MotoGP was around the corner, with Dorna duly confirming it now.

As such, it moves to the end of the calendar slotting in as the penultimate round between the USA and the Valencia finale, which is now going to be held on 27-29 November 2020.

The move means what was the original fifth round of the season in Jerez will act as the season opener on May 1-3. However, its prospects look shaky too after the FIM has also confirmed it upcoming WorldSBK event at the end of this month isn’t going ahead.

Dorna, FIM and IRTA have been forced to make wholesale changes to the 2020 MotoGP calendar as the spread of coronavirus COVID-19 forces nations to introduce measures to combat its spread, including a ban on mass gatherings.

Together with restrictions on movement of Italian personnel due to the growing number of cases in Italy, the governing body and commercial rights holder have had no choice but to reschedule them now.

In WorldSBK, Jerez becomes the season finale on 24-25 October, while France has also moved its event in Magny Cours (Round 11) a week to 3-4 October to avoid a clash with MotoGP.

2020 MotoGP World Championship Calendar [Update: 11 March 2020]

08 MarchQatar (Moto2/3 only)Losail International Circuit
03 MaySpainCircuito de Jerez - Angel Nieto
17 MayFranceLe Mans
31 MayItalyMugello
07 JuneCatalunyaCircuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
21 JuneGermanySachsenring
28 JuneNetherlandsAssen
12 JulyFinlandKymiRing
09 AugustCzech RepublicBrno
16 AugustAustriaRed Bull Ring
30 AugustGreat BritainSilverstone
13 SeptemberSan MarinoMisano
27 SeptemberAragonMotorland Aragon
04 OctoberThailandChang International Circuit
18 OctoberJapanTwin Ring Motegi
25 OctoberAustraliaPhillip Island
01 NovemberMalaysiaSepang
15 NovemberUnited StatesCircuit of The Americas
22 NovemberArgentinaTermas de Rio Hondo
29 NovemberValenciaValencia Ricardo Tormo