2010 Portuguese GP Race Results

Lorenzo romps to victory at penulimate race of 2010

JORGE LORENZO proved once again he's worthy 2010 MotoGP champion by winning the weekend's Portuguese GP from Estoril.

Starting from pole, Lorenzo dominated most of the race, crossing the finishing line almost 10 seconds ahead of nearest rival and team-mate Valentino Rossi.

The win was Lorenzo's eighth victory in the 2010 season; the Spaniard leads the championship with 358 points.

The final round of the 2010 season takes place next weekend in Valencia, Spain.

Following his victory at Estoril, Lorenzo commented:

"On the warm-up lap I could see there were still a few wet parts and I knew that I was going to have to be careful at the beginning. I got a great start and was in the lead but eventually Valentino overtook me and then off he went. He had a better pace than me then and I couldn't go with him.

"As the track got drier I found my pace improving and then step-by-step I closed the gap and was able to get past him. At that point I felt really good and I am so happy to win for the third time here at Estoril. It was a long time since I have won but my confidence has remained high and I haven't been worried. I knew I could win here at my favourite track.

"We also confirmed the Triple Crown for Yamaha today so well done to the whole team for this victory."

2010 Portuguese GP Race Results:

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Fiat Yamaha Team 46m 17.962s
2. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team 46m 26.591s
3. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team 46m 44.437s
4. Marco Simoncelli ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini 46m 44.496s
5. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team 46m 45.116s
6. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP 46m 46.259s
7. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 46m 48.071s
8. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team 47m 2.909s
9. Marco Melandri ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini 47m 31.611s
10. Hector Barbera ESP Paginas Amarillas Aspar 47m 35.683s
11. Alvaro Bautista ESP Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 47m 35.87s
12. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Interwetten Honda MotoGP 47m 50.987s
13. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 47m 57.714s


Carlos Checa ESP Pramac Racing
Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team
Aleix Espargaro ESP Pramac Racing


Ben Spies USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3