BSB Thruxton Race 3 Results | Jason O'Halloran supreme for Thruxton treble

Jason O'Halloran does it again to secure his seventh British Superbike Championship (BSB) win in 12 races, ahead of Danny Buchan and Danny Kent

Jason O'Halloran - McAMS Yamaha

Jason O’Halloran strengthened his status as the rider to beat in the 2021 British Superbike Championship by completing his second clean sweep of wins of the season, this time at Thruxton.

The Australian kept his cool in murky damp conditions at the Hampshire circuit to recover lost ground early on before resisting the attentions of Danny Buchan for a third win of the weekend.

His seventh victory of the year, it is his second hat-trick over a single weekend after starting the season with a trio of wins at Oulton Park.

After races one and two were held in the dry, damp conditions greeted the riders for the final race of the weekend, leading to a blend of tyre choices from a full rain set-up to those persevering with an intermediate-style ‘wet’ Pirelli.

Among those to go for full tread was Peter Hickman and Tarran Mackenzie, the pair making it clear from the lights as they sprung into an early lead over O’Halloran.

However, while rain would return part way through the race to make the Campbell-Cobb section particularly tricky, a dry line around the fastest Village and Church sections would see the pendulum swing back towards those on the more conservative rubber.

As such, Hickman and Mackenzie would slip back into the clutches of O’Halloran, who coolly grabbed the lead on lap nine, pulling with him an inspired Danny Buchan, who had sprung up the order from ninth on the grid.

Though Buchan briefly nosed into the lead on lap ten, O’Halloran punched back on lap 11 and pushed on to the chequered flag to complete another comprehensive victory for the McAMS Yamaha team.

Buchan held onto second place for his fourth podium of the year, resisting the late attentions of Danny Kent, the BSB rookie putting in his and Buildbase Suzuki’s strongest performance of the year to secure his first rostrum.

Ryan Vickers bounced back from his race two disappointment to complete another strong result in fourth place, ahead of the Irwin brothers, Andrew leading Glenn.

Full rain-shod Mackenzie and Hickman benefitted from the sporadic downpours to finish seventh and eighth, while Christian Iddon - bruised from his accident in race two - could only manage ninth. Bradley Ray completed the top ten.

2021 British Superbike Championship (BSB) RACE 3 RESULTS | Thruxton

2021 British Superbike Championship (BSB) RACE 3 RESULTS | Thruxton | Round 4 / 11
PosRiderNat.BSB TeamMotorcycleTiming
1Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS YamahaYamaha YZF-R120 Laps
2Danny BuchanGBRSynetiq BMW MotorradBMW M1000 RR+0.826
3Danny KentGBRBuildbase Hawk SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000R+1.834
4Ryan VickersGBRRAF Regular & ReserveKawasaki ZX-10RR+5.643
5Andrew IrwinGBRSynetiq BMW MotorradBMW M1000 RR+10.310
6Glenn IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+12.511
7Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS YamahaYamaha YZF-R1+12.791
8Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMWBMW M1000 RR+18.912
9Christian IddonGBRVisionTrack DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+19.881
10Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG RacingBMW M1000 RR+21.975
11Gino ReaGBRBuildbase Hawk SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000R+28.442
12Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+31.374
13Dan LinfootGBRTAG Racing HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R+32.457
14Josh BrookesAUSVisionTrack DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+38.625
15Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro PartsKawasaki ZX-10RR+39.176
16Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG RacingBMW M1000 RR+40.790
17Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone EngineeringKawasaki ZX-10RR+1m 08.243
18Tommy BridewellGBROxford Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+1m 09.574
19Joe FrancisGBRiForce Lloyd & Jones BMWBMW M1000 RR+1m 14.475
20Bjorn EstmentSWEPowerslide Catfoss RacingSuzuki GSX-R1000R+1m 15.872
21Takumi TakahashiJPNHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+1m 18.193
22Ryo MizunoJPNHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+1m 18.399
DNFRory SkinnerGBRFS-3 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR 
DNFXavi ForesESPFHO Racing BMWBMW M1000 RR 
DNFBrian McCormackIRLRoadhouse Macau by FHOBMW M1000 RR 
DNFLuke HopkinsGBRHopkins RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R