BSB Snetterton Qualifying Results | Iddon pole in crash-strewn qualifying

Christian Iddon keeps it upright in a delayed, crash-strewn qualifying session at a rainy Snetterton as top BSB title favourites suffer mixed fortunes

Christian Iddon - Buildbase Suzuki

Christian Iddon has secured both his and Buildbase Suzuki’s first British Superbike Championship (BSB) pole position of the season amid treacherous conditions at Snetterton.

After a Friday beset by inclement weather conditions, Saturday morning’s BSB qualifying proved to be similarly tough for the riders, leading to a strung-out session that took almost 90mins to complete.

With Q1 getting underway in damp, greasy conditions - leading to some initial attempts being tiptoed at a slower pace than a warm-up lap - the pole-deciding Q2 session was first red flagged due to debris from an engine blow, only to be delayed by a huge rain shower just prior to the restart.

Moreover, though the rainfall was torrential, unusually it only covered the Norfolk circuit’s second-half, with riders crossing from big puddles down the home straight to bone dry conditions in sectors one and two.

It served to throw an unusual curveball into proceedings and led to numerous fallers in Q2 especially, but it was Iddon - helped by a rapid final sector split - that would emerge up top, the Suzuki rider seemingly boosted by having completed crucial mileage prior to the session via Q1.

He gets underway from Kyle Ryde, who put in a confidence boosting run to second on the grid on a weekend where he appears most under pressure to retain his Title Showdown spot following a run of poor form.

Another rider on the bubble in sixth overall coming into the final round before the Showdown gets underway, Tommy Bridewell completes the front row in third place, ahead of Glenn Irwin, who will be looking to formalise his qualification into the final stages of the season in fourth.

Championship leader Bradley Ray shrugged off a late fall to land fifth on the grid, ahead of Yamaha stablemate Tarran Mackenzie on the factory-backed McAMS R1.

Another rider to make the most of coming through Q1, Takumi Takahashi claimed his first top ten start in BSB with a solid seventh place, ahead of Tom Sykes, who might have started higher but for a fall at the dry Montreal bend while he was top of the timesheets.

Peter Hickman and Rory Skinner rounded out the top ten, the latter doing so despite he and FS-3 Kawasaki team-mate Lee Jackson - who starts 13th - also coming down during the session.

Andrew Irwin and Josh Brookes sit between the two Team Green bikes in 11th and 12th, ahead of Chrissy Rouse.

After his two wins last time out at Cadwell Park put him back on the cusp of the Title Showdown positions in ninth overall, Danny Buchan faces a task to carry that form into the final reckoning after only managing 15th following his own late tumble.

2022 British Superbike Championship | Snetterton | Qualifying RESULTS

2022 British Superbike Championship | Snetterton | Qualifying RESULTS | Round 8 / 12
PosRiderNat.WorldSBK TeamSuperbikeTiming
1Christian IddonGBRBuildbase SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000R2m 06.645
2Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG RacingYamaha R12m 06.809
3Tommy BridewellGBROxford RacingDucati Panigale V4 R2m 06.922
4Glenn IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R2m 07.563
5Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG RacingYamaha R12m 07.757
6Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS YamahaYamaha R12m 08.545
7Takumi TakahashiJPNHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R2m 12.006
8Tom SykesGBRMCE DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R2m 12.013
9Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR2m 12.043
10Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR2m 12.396
11Andrew IrwinGBRSynetiq BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR2m 13.068
12Josh BrookesAUSMCE DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R2m 13.459
13Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR2m 13.615
14Chrissy RouseGBRCrowe PerformanceBMW M 1000 RR2m 14.321
15Danny BuchanGBRSynetiq BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR2m 14.359
16Dean HarrisonGBRDAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR2m 14.321
17Luke MosseyGBRiForce Lloyd & JonesBMW M 1000 RR2m 14.359
18Danny KentGBRBuildbase SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000R2m 14.624
19Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS YamahaYamaha R12m 01.732
20Liam DelvesGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR2m 01.788
21Leon HaslamGBRVisionTrack KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR2m 01.916
22Josh OwensGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR2m 04.061
23Ryo MizunoJPNHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R2m 06.542
24Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Car PartsKawasaki ZX-10RR2m 07.871
25Ryan VickersGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR2m 12.764
26Tom NeaveGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-RNo Time
27Leon JeacockGBRSpecsavers SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000RNo Time