BSB Cadwell Park Race 3 Results | O'Halloran punishes Hickman for late mistake

Jason O'Halloran notches up his ninth win of the 2021 British Superbike Championship season after Peter Hickman's final lap mistake denies him a hat-trick

Jason O'Halloran - McAMS Yamaha [credit: Ian Hopgood]

Jason O’Halloran capitalised on a late error from Peter Hickman to snatch victory in the third British Superbike Championship race of the weekend at Cadwell Park, denying the local man a spectacular hat-trick.

On a breakthrough weekend for the experience Isle of Man TT record holder, Hickman came to his home event with four BSB wins to his name over a career spanning 15 years.

However, he came close to doing the treble with FHO BMW this weekend after winning the opening two races and setting himself on course to do the same in race three when he snatched the lead from Glenn Irwin on five at Mansfield.

Leading right up to the final lap, Hickman’ hat-trick aspirations would be dashed by a loose moment on the exit of Coppice invited a gap O’Halloran would need twice. Holding his nerve to the chequered flag, it means O’Halloran has won at all but one venue so far this season.

Tommy Bridewell couldn’t make his pole position count for him after a bad start forced him on the recovery trail, but he’d claw his way back to complete a brace of third place results on the Oxford Ducati.

Lee Jackson got the better of defending champion Josh Brookes for fourth, though the latter did pull off the overtake of the weekend (and possibly the season) by nailing both Irwin and Jackson into Park,

Irwin faded to sixth having led early on, ahead of Christian Iddon, who bounced back from his race two crash for a useful seventh. Bradley Ray, Andrew Irwin and Gino Rea completed the top ten.

2021 British Superbike Championship (BSB) Race 3 RESULTS

2021 British Superbike Championship (BSB) Race 3 RESULTS | Cadwell Park | Round 6 / 11
PosRiderNat.BSB TeamMotorcycleTiming
1Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS YamahaYamaha YZF-R118 Laps
2Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMWBMW M1000 RR+0.203
3Tommy BridewellGBROxford Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+2.332
4Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+5.832
5Josh BrookesAUSVisionTrack DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+6.004
6Glenn IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+8.953
7Christian IddonGBRVisionTrack DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+9.351
8Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG RacingBMW M1000 RR+9.669
9Andrew IrwinGBRSynetiq BMW MotorradBMW M1000 RR+10.135
11Gino ReaGBRBuildbase Hawk SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000R+17.308
12Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+17.592
13Xavi ForesESPFHO Racing BMWBMW M1000 RR+17.862
14Dan LinfootGBRTAG Racing HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R+19.289
15Tim NeaveGBRBuildbase Hawk SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000R+28.289
16Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone EngineeringKawasaki ZX-10RR+34.431
17Joe Sheldon-ShawGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+40.598
18James HillierGBRRICH Energy OMG RacingBMW M1000 RR+41.684
19Brian McCormackIRLRoadhouse Macau by FHOBMW M1000 RR+1m 28.243
DNFStorm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro PartsKawasaki ZX-10RR 
DNFTakumi TakahashiJPNHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R 
DNSRyo MizunoJPNHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R 
DNSBjorn EstmentSWEPowerslide Catfoss RacingSuzuki GSX-R1000R 
DNSTarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS YamahaYamaha YZF-R1 
DNSJoe FrancisGBRiForce Lloyd & Jones BMWBMW M1000 RR 
DNSRyan VickersGBRRAF Regular & ReserveKawasaki ZX-10RR