Brands Hatch BSB 2011 Round 1: Qualifying

Some surprises for who's not in the Top 10 for Monday's race

SHANE BYRNE topped the time sheets throughout all three qualifying stages for the first round of the British Superbike Championship at a gloriously sunny Brands Hatch. John Hopkins didn't make it through to the final stage of qualifying and will start from 11th on the grid.

1. Shane Byrne GBR HM Plant Honda CBR1000RR 45.112s
2. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN HM Plant Honda CBR1000RR 45.192s
3. Michael Laverty GBR Swan Yamaha YZF-R1 45.280s
4. Tommy Hill GBR Swan Yamaha YZF-R1 45.324s
5. Loris Baz FRA Motorpoint Yamaha YZF-R1 45.520s
6. Michael Rutter GBR Rapid-Bathams Ducati 1098R 45.606s
7. Jon Kirkham GBR Samsung Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 45.627s
8. Tommy Bridewell GBR Tyco Honda CBR1000RR 45.815s
9. James Westmoreland GBR Motorpoint Yamaha YZF-R1 45.892s
10. Stuart Easton GBR MSS Colchester Kawasaki ZX-10R 46.059s

Decided after Q2

11. John Hopkins USA Samsung Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 45.739s
12. Dan Linfoot GBR SMT Honda CBR1000RR 45.745s
13. Josh Brookes AUS Relentless Suzuki GSX-R1000 45.813s
14. Martin Jessopp GBR Rapid-Bathams Ducati 1098R 45.838s
15. Chris Walker GBR Pr1mo Kawasaki ZX-10R 45.880s
16. Gary Mason GBR MSS Colchester Kawasaki ZX-10R 45.920s
17. Graeme Gowland GBR WFR Honda CBR1000RR 45.969s (E)
18. Glen Richards AUS WFR Honda CBR1000RR 46.092s (E)
19. John Laverty GBR Buildbase BMW S1000RR 46.179s
20. Peter Hickman GBR Tyco Honda CBR1000RR 46.187s

Decided after Q1

21. Alex Lowes GBR WFR Honda CBR1000RR 46.255s (E)
22. Steve Brogan GBR Jentin Honda CBR1000RR 46.345s
23. James Hillier GBR Bournemouth Kawasaki ZX-10R 46.353s (E)
24. Craig Fitzpatrick GBR Close Print Honda CBR1000RR 46.394s (E)
25. Simon Andrews GBR PR Kawasaki ZX-10R 46.443s (E)
26. Ian Lowry GBR Buildbase BMW S1000RR 46.504s
27. Guy Martin GBR Relentless Suzuki GSX-R1000 46.579s
28. Barry Burrell GBR Buildbase BMW S1000RR 46.712s (E)
29. Hudson Kennaugh RSA Splitlath Aprilia RSV-4 46.726s
30. Patric Muff SUI Tyco Honda CBR1000RR 46.761s (E)
31. Aaron Zanotti GBR Quattro Plant Spike BMW S1000RR 46.799s (E)
32. Scott Smart GBR Moto Rapido Ducati 1098R 47.059s (E)
33. Tom Tunstall GBR Doodson Honda CBR1000RR 47.951s (E)
34. Matteo Mossa ITA 777R Suzuki GSX-R1000 48.578s (E)