Honda notches up 800th Grand Prix victory at Teruel GP

Jaume Masia took a thrilling win at the Teruel GP to mark the 800th win for a Honda mounted rider in Grand Prix history

Masia MotoGP Honda 800th Grand Prix win

HONDA made history this weekend as the win at the Teruel GP, as Jaume Masia became the 800th Honda-mounted rider to claim a Grand Prix win.

Honda CBR1000RR-R SP video review

Honda CBR1000RR-R Fireblade SP (2020) Review | Sound Engine |

The record came at the end of stunning Moto3 race at MotorLand Aragon, which saw over 20 riders in the leading group covered by just a few seconds. To take the flag, Masia had to keep a cool head amidst huge pressure from a pack of highly competitive riders, all thirsty for the win. With three laps left on the board, Masia moved into the lead but his rivals retaliated. Honda power shot Masia down the back straight to clinch a historic win.

Honda 800th Grand Prix victory

Takahiro Hachigo, President, CEO and Representative Director, Honda commented:

“I am proud of Honda’s 800th FIM World Championship Grand Prix victory. I am deeply grateful to the Honda fans worldwide for their contributions to, and unwavering support for Honda’s racing activities. I would also like to thank all of those before us for their passion and dedication to overcome the countless problems and lead us from 1959 to where we stand now. Honda sees this moment as a waypoint, and will continue to fight for victory. We look forward to your continued support.”

A history of Honda Grand Prix domination

Honda’s 1st Grand Prix victory

Tom Phillis, 1961 Spanish 125cc GP, Honda RC143

Honda’s 100th Grand Prix victory

Luigi Taveri, 1966 Dutch 50cc TT, Honda RC116

Honda’s 200th Grand Prix victory

Jimmy Filice, 1988 US 250cc GP, Honda NSR250

Honda’s 300th Grand Prix victory

Alex Criville, 1992 Dutch 500cc TT, Honda NSR500

Honda’s 400th Grand Prix victory

Haruchika Aoki, 1996 Brazilian 125cc GP, Honda RS125R

Honda’s 500th Grand Prix victory

Valentino Rossi, 2001 Japanese 500cc GP, Honda NSR500

Honda’s 600th Grand Prix victory

Dani Pedrosa, 2005 Australian 250cc GP, Honda R250RW

Honda’s 700th Grand Prix victory

Marc Marquez, 2015 Indianapolis MotoGP, Honda RC213V

Honda’s 800th Grand Prix victory

Jaume Masia, 2020 Teruel Moto3, Honda NSF250RW