WSBK 2015: Misano race one results

Kawasaki Racing Team dominates in San Marino

KAWASAKI Racing Team’s Tom Sykes won the opening race at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, ahead of team-mate Jonathan Rea and Ducati’s Chaz Davies.

Sykes took his 27th pole position and turned it into his 25th career win in Misano, leading from the start. The 21-lap race saw the Yorkshireman dominate from the beginning, taking the chequered flag first ahead of team-mate Rea.

Taking third, Davies lunged past Rea into the final corner, but ran wide and was then passed by Rea on the run to the flag.

Davide Giugliano put the second official factory Ducati into 4th despite running second for the majority of the 21-lap race. However, Giugliano set a new lap record on lap three at the Misano World circuit.

Leon Haslam didn’t quite have the pace he had in qualifying and finished in fifth, 0.1s ahead of the returning Max Biaggi. The six-time World Champion collided with Sylvain Guintoli on the opening lap, but managed to stay on his Aprilia.

Guintoli eventually finished in ninth after fighting with Ayrton Badoini for most of the race who finished seventh while Michele Pirro and and Pata Honda’s Michael van der Mark finished eighth and 10th respectively.

Race one results:

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing
2. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing +3.613 
3. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati +4.178
4. Davide Giugliano ITA Racing Ducati +5.944
5. Leon Haslam GBR Red Devils Roma Aprilia +12.155
6. Max Biaggi ITA Red Devils Roma Aprilia +12.352
7. Ayrton Badovini ITA BMW Italia  +18.145
8. Michele Pirro ITA Racing Ducati +18.145
9. Sylvain Guintoli FRA PATA Honda World Superbike +20.088
10. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Honda World Superbike +20.282
11. Leandro Mercado ARG Barni Ducati +24.195
12. Alex Lowes GBR Voltcom Crescent Suzuki +26.625
13. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta F4 +26.719
14. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki +31.898
15. Matteo Baiocco ITA Althea Ducati +32.643 
16. Markus Reiterberger GER BMW +36.833
17. David Salom ESP Pedercini Kawasaki +42.514
18. Christophe Ponsson FRA Pedercini Kawasaki +1:10.247 
19. Santiago Barragan ESP Grillini Kawasaki +1:10.536 
20. Gianluca Vizziello ITA Grillini Kawasaki +1:28.191
21. Gabor Rizmayer HUN Team Toth BMW +1:38.856
22. Imre Toth HUN Team Toth BMW +1 lap 

DNF. Niccolò Canepa ITA Althea Ducati
DNF. Randy de Puniet FRA Voltcom Crescent Suzuki
DNF. Jordi Torres ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia

  • Sign up for Visordown's weekly newsletter, Bugsplat, to get the best motorcycle news, road tests and features plus exclusive competitions and offers direct to your inbox. Register as a Visordown member here and tick the box for Bugsplat in your newsletter settings here.