WorldSBK Results - Aragon Race 1 | Rea romps to 100th win in dominant style

Jonathan Rea clinches a record 100th WorldSBK victory to get his bid for a seventh title on the latest generation Kawasaki ZX-10RR off to an exemplary start

Jonathan Rea - Kawasaki Racing Team

Jonathan Rea’s bid to make it a seventh WorldSBK Championship title in 2021 kicked off in record-breaking fashion with a 100th career win in the opening race of the season.

The favourite heading into the first of 13 events this season, Rea started on pole and wasted no time in putting his steer on the 2021 WorldSBK season in Spain, landing the hole shot, shrugging off the keen interests of team-mate Alex Lowes before romping on to win by almost four seconds.

His success in Aragon makes him the first rider to hit the ‘ton’ in terms of WorldSBK race wins, a mantle he is likely to hold for some time given the next ‘winningest’ person on the all-time list is Carl Fogarty on 59 victories.

Yamaha vs Triumph | Yamaha MT 09 SP vs Triumph Street Triple RS | Visordown.com

Indeed, while all signs had pointed to Rea and the new Kawasaki ZX-10RR being the combination to beat, many will be concerned at the gulf in performance between himself and the rest of the field.

Getting an excellent start from pole position, Rea attempted to put the hammer down early and succeeded in shaking off all but his team-mate Alex Lowes, who gamely shadowed his countryman during the first half of the race as the ZX-10RRs swelled the advantage to Scott Redding in third.

However, it remained clear Rea was in control, leaving Lowes unable to respond when he upped the pace with just under ten laps remaining,. With Lowes slipping into the clutches of the distant pack, Rea’s break was the last significant moment of the race for him until he took the chequered flag for the 100th time, 12 years after his first at Misano on the Ten Kate Honda.

Lowes held onto second place with a gusty fight back after a sudden drop in pace with eight laps to go suggested tyre woes and a sharp descent down the order. However, despite losing second place to Toprak Razgatlioglu with six to go, Lowes regrouped and pressured back, the pair trading position several times on the final lap before the Brit got the edge in the run to the line.

Despite the frustrating final result, third place for the Turk still represents a welcome return on a disappointing qualifying showing in tenth.

Redding ran third early on but had no weapons in his armoury until the very closing stages when his hard tyres brought him back into play enough to get the better of Ducati counterpart Chaz Davies, the Welshman settling for fifth having looked good for a podium earlier on.

Tom Sykes limited damage for BMW with a solid sixth from the front row of the grid, the 2011 WorldSBK champion benefitting from Alvaro Bautista crashing ahead of him on the final lap in what will be an unwelcome reminder for Honda of the Spaniard’s increasingly error-prone reputation.

A maiden winner at Aragon on the Go Eleven Ducati, Michael Ruben Rinaldi looked a shadow of that rider on his Ducati factory debut with a disappointing run to seventh position, ahead of Leon Haslam and Garrett Gerloff, who ran as high as fourth before his GRT Yamaha faded with tyre issues.

On what has been a sobering apprenticeship thus far for the WorldSSP Champion on the Pata Yamaha, Andrea Locatelli at least squeezed a top ten from his debut in tenth place, ahead of Michael van der Mark, who will just be pleased to reach the chequered flag on a weekend littered with issues and incidents on his new BMW M 1000 RR

Axel Bassani recovered from a qualifying crash to claim the rookie spoils, ahead of fellow WorldSSP graduates Isaac Vinales and Lucas Mahias in 12th, 13th and 15th, while Kohta Nozane scored on his WorldSBK debut in 14th.

2021 WorldSBK Aragon - Race Results (1)

WorldSBK Aragon | Qualifying Results | Round 1 / 13
PosRiderNat.WorldSBK TeamSuperbikeFastest Lap
1Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasakI ZX-10RR20 Laps
2Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasakI ZX-10RR+3.965
3Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata Yamaha by BRIXXYamaha YZF-R1+4.008
4Scott ReddingESPAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+4.242
5Chaz DaviesGBRTeam GoElevenDucati Panigale V4 R+4.615
6Tom SykesGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M1000RR+6.784
7Michael Ruben RinaldiESPAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+8.345
8Leon HaslamESPTeam HRC HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R+10.187
9Garrett GerloffESPGRT Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+10.326
10Andrea LocatelliITAPata Yamaha by BRIXXYamaha YZF-R1+17.693
11Michael van der MarkNEDBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M1000RR+21.154
12Axel BassaniESPMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+27.523
13Isaac VinalesESPOrelac Racing VerdNatura KawasakI ZX-10RR+30.963
14Kohta NozaneESPGRT Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+36.789
15Lucas MahiasESPKawasaki Puccetti RacingKawasakI ZX-10RR+39.334
16Jonas FolgerGERBonovo MGM ActionBMW M1000RR+41.544
17Christophe PonssonESPAlstare YamahaYamaha YZF-R1+43.179
18Loris CressonESPTPR Team Pedercini RacingKawasakI ZX-10RR+1m >
DNFAlvaro BautistaESPTeam HRC HondaHonda CBR1000RR-RCrash
DNFEugene LavertyIRLRC Squadra CorseBMW M1000RRTechnical
DNFSamuele CavalieriESPTPR Team Pedercini RacingKawasakI ZX-10RRTechnical
DNFLeandro MercadoESPMIE RacingHonda CBR1000RR-RTechnical
DNFTito RabatESPBarni Racing TeamDucati Panigale V4 RTechnical

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now