Rea heads Kawasaki 1-2 ahead of Lowes | Donington WorldSBK Superpole Results

After topping Friday practice by almost half-a-second, Jonathan Rea was favourite to take pole position in WorldSBK's Donington Superpole session.

Jonathan Rea, 2022 Donington WorldSBK. - Gold and Goose

Superpole for the fifth round of the 2022 Superbike World Championship was, as Friday, held under sunlight which was increasing in intensity.  

The short, 15-minute Superpole session took place after FP3, in which Garrett Gerloff was fastest. But after topping Friday afternoon's FP2 by almost half-a-second, Jonathan Rea was favourite to take pole position at what is his home race.

An early crash for Loris Baz at turn one limited his potential for the session (although he was able to get back out later on for 14th) while the early pace was set by Eugene Laverty, who sat at the top briefly before the major runners came through.

When they did, it was Jonathan Rea who was fastest ahead of Scott Redding, while Alvaro Bautista and Toprak Razgatlioglu were the only other riders within half-a-second of Rea after the opening salvos. 

Next came the SCQ tyres, of course, which would provide the optimum grip for a fast time. Once again it was Rea who had the most potential, and he was even able to improve on the second lap of the tyre - a rarity with the new-for-2022 SCQs. 

Scott Redding was unable to benefit to the same extent with the Q tyre as the SCX on the first run from Rea's tow, and he ended up fourth, as Alex Lowes and Toprak Razgatlioglu completed the front row. 

Alvaro Bautista was fifth, ahead of his factory Ducati teammate Michael Rinaldi who completed row two; while Iker Lecuona will start race one later today from seventh, alonsdie Garrett Gerloff and Andrea Locatelli on row three.

Full WorldSBK Superpole results from Donington Park are below.

2022 WorldSBK Championship | Donington, UK |  Superpole RESULTS

2022 WorldSBK Championship | Donington, UK | Superpole RESULTS | Round 5 / 12
PosRiderNat.WorldSBK TeamSuperbikeTiming
1Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR1:26.080
2Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR1:26.353
3Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata YamahaYamaha R11:26.506
4Scott ReddingGBRBMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR1:26.514
5Alvaro BautistaESPAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R1:26.736
6Michael Ruben RinaldiITAAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R1:27.011
7Iker LecuonaESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R1:27.038
8Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha TeamYamaha R11:27.100
9Andrea LocatelliITAPata YamahaYamaha R11:27.191
10Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1:27.206
11Philipp OettlGERTeam GoElevenDucati Panigale V4 R1:27.336
12Lucas MahiasFRAPuccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1:27.390
13Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS YamahaYamaha R11:27.670
14Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMWBMW M 1000 RR1:27.711
15Leon HaslamGBRTPR Pedercini RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1:27.806
16Xavi ViergeESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R1:27.861
17Leandro MercadoARGMIE Racing TeamHonda CBR1000RR-R1:27.929
18Ilya MychalchykUKRBMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR1:27.957
19Roberto TamburiniITAMotoxracing TeamYamaha R11:28.025
20Eugene LavertyIRLBonovo Action BMWBMW M 1000 RR1:28.048
21Hafizh SyahrinMALMIE Racing TeamHonda CBR1000RR-R1:28.141
22Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR1:28.378
23Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha TeamYamaha R11:28.617
24Christophe PonssonFRAGil Motor SportYamaha R11:28.935
25Oliver KonigCZEOrelac VerdNaturaKawasaki ZX-10RR1:29.011
26Luca BernardiSMRBarni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1:29.032