TT 2017: Michael Dunlop equals Hailwood’s record with Supersport win

Michael Dunlop has secured his 14th TT win of his career in the opening Supersport race

Michael Dunlop [Credit: Carl Cox Motorsport]

Michael Dunlop has eased to victory by 13 seconds to win the opening Supersport race at the 2017 Isle of Man TT ahead of James Hillier and Peter Hickman as Superbike winner Ian Hutchinson could only manage fifth place.

The Carl Cox Motorsport-sponsored Yamaha rider stormed into the lead on lap two at Glen Helen and after pulling out a gap rarely looked troubled for his 14th TT win in his career to go equal with Mike Hailwood and close back up to one behind Hutchinson on the all-time winners list.

Hillier, who led on the road for the majority of the race after passing Bruce Anstey midway through the opening lap, maintained his charge to keep hold of second place of JG Speedfit Kawasaki and despite a late attack from Peter Hickman on the Trooper Beer Triumph as the Louth-based rider made it two podiums from two in 2017.

William Dunlop was forced to settle for fourth place but comfortably ahead of Hutchinson who struggled for outright pace throughout the race to take fifth, as Gary Johnson held on to sixth. Anstey fought back late on for seventh to get ahead of Dan Kneen who suffered with a time penalty for speeding in the pitlane which had initially dropped him to 12th.

Local rider Conor Cummins grabbed ninth place with Jamie Crowton tenth as Josh Brookes claimed his best result on the 600cc machinery with 11th place.