2022 Isle of Man TT to be broadcast live for first time in 115-year history

The 2022 Isle of Man TT to be broadcast live for the first time in its history with more than 40 hours of coverage planned as part of one-off fee package

2022 Isle of Man TT

The 2022 Isle of Man TT will become the first event in its 115-year history to be broadcast live and uninterrupted over the entire ten-day period.

A bold move for TT organisers, one that represents an unprecedented task to ensure the entire 37.5 miles Snaefell Mountain Course route is covered by cameras to ensure an unparalleled viewing experience of the iconic road racing event like never before.

To be made available via the TT+ Live Pass for a one-off payment of £14.99, the package is optimised for smart televisions and smart devices, with up to 40 hours of live coverage - both qualifying and race week - planned across the entire event, plus exclusive access, interviews and behind-the-scenes footage. 

The production will be handled by Greenlight Television - a production company described as ‘island motorsport specialists’ - with the promise of bringing racing action from rarely-seen vantage points using 20 live action cameras that it will move to different locations over the course of the event, plus aerial shots from two helicopters.

Anchoring presenting duties will be Jennie Gow, who will be joined by Matt Roberts and Amy Williams, while Rick Faragher will be the man on the ground reporting from the paddock. Commentary will be handled by familiar TT favourite Dave Moore, plus Andrew Coley and ex-TT racing pundits Cameron Donald and Steve Plater. 

The news comes as the Isle of Man gears up for its first TT festival in three years after the 2020 and 2021 events were scuppered by COVID-19.

While organisers are confident of attracting another record crowd to the island this year, it is hoped the extended television coverage will grow the TT’s global reach further than ever before.

The 2022 Isle of Man TT will get underway with the first day of qualifying on Sunday 29 May and run until Friday 10 June.