Qatar MotoGP test times - Saturday (FINAL)

Lap times from Saturday's opening evening at the official Qatar test.
Qatar MotoGP test times - Saturday (FINAL)

Vinales and Yamaha head the MotoGP timesheets as the final pre-season test gets underway in Qatar.

The likes of Petrucci, Marquez, Vinales and Rins also made appearances at the top before Vinales set what would be the fastest lap of the night with just over an hour to go.

Marquez suffered a small fall at Turn 16, but appeared to suffer no damage to his healing shoulder and managed to get his bike back to the pits.

Team-mate Lorenzo returned to action after missing the Sepang test due to a fractured wrist in a January training accident.

Testing, which took place from 4pm to 10pm, continues on Sunday evening and concludes on Monday night…

CLICK HERE for live updates by…

  1. = Maverick Viñales ESP Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 55.051s [Lap 48/50]
  2. = Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 55.159s +0.108s [45/48]
  3. = Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 1m 55.550s +0.499s [23/29]
  4. = Danilo Petrucci ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 1m 55.594s +0.543s [25/37]
  5. = Valentino Rossi ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 55.604s +0.553s [42/47]
  6. = Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (Desmosedici) 1m 55.694s +0.643s [44/44]
  7. = Fabio Quartararo FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1)* 1m 55.772s +0.721s [42/49]
  8. = Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 55.943s +0.892s [28/45]
  9. = Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 56.040s +0.989s [43/47]
  10. = Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 56.167s +1.116s [26/34]
  11. = Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 56.264s +1.213s [47/52]
  12. = Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 56.358s +1.307s [24/34]
  13. ^1 Andrea Iannone ITA Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 56.447s +1.396s [28/30]
  14. ˅1 Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1) 1m 56.511s +1.460s [45/47]
  15. = Francesco Bagnaia ITA Pramac Ducati (Desmosedici)* 1m 56.738s +1.687s [27/45]
  16. = Johann Zarco FRA Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 56.770s +1.719s [24/53]
  17. = Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)* 1m 56.891s +1.840s [28/42]
  18. = Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 56.921s +1.870s [23/43]
  19. = Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (Desmosedici) 1m 56.932s +1.881s [33/46]
  20. = Karel Abraham CZE Reale Avintia (Desmosedici) 1m 57.053s +2.002s [22/39]
  21. = Jorge Lorenzo ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 57.090s +2.039s [31/38]
  22. = Bradley Smith GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 57.137s +2.086s [29/48]
  23. = Hafizh Syahrin MAL Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16) 1m 57.459s +2.408s [30/44]


^X Rider is X positions higher than previous hour.
= Rider is same position as previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than previous hour

Official Qatar MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Johann Zarco FRA Yamaha 1m 53.680s (2018)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 54.927s (2016)

By Peter McLaren