MotoGP 2012: Misano race results

All the finishers and fallers from the San Marino MotoGP

MotoGP 2012: Misano race results

THE START of the San Marino MotoGP at Misano was a calamity.

Karel Abraham stalled on the grid, causing the start to be postponed. Then pole-sitter Dani Pedrosa had front-brake issues just before the warm-up lap and had his bike ushered into pit lane, only to get it back in time for the warm-up lap but then fall behind the safety car with the same issue, meaning he had to start from the back.

Making his way through the field on the first lap, Pedrosa was taken out by Hector Barbera. Lorenzo lead from start to finish, Rossi was barely challenged for second place the whole race. Bautista took the last spot on the podium riding hard for Simoncelli's former team, San Carlo Gresini Honda. Crutchlow crashed trying to stick with Dovizioso while Jonathan Rea got his head down, had a clean race and bagged eighth.

Misano MotoGP Race Results:

1. Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 42m 49.836s
2. Valentino Rossi    Ducati Team (GP12) 42m 54.234s
3. Alvaro Bautista San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 42m 55.891s
4. Andrea Dovizioso Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 42m 55.894s
5. Ben Spies Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 42m 57.379s
6. Stefan Bradl LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 43m 3.108s
7. Nicky Hayden Ducati Team (GP12) 43m 30.743s
8. Jonathan Rea Repsol Honda (RC213V) 43m 32.998s
9. Randy De Puniet Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 43m 59.463s
10. Michele Pirro San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 44m 3.441s
11. Colin Edwards NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT) 44m 6.531s
12. Yonny Hernandez Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 44m 8.909s
13. James Ellison Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 44m 9.244s
14. Danilo Petrucci Came IodaRacing (Suter-BMW CRT) +1 lap
15. David Salom Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) +1 lap

Aleix Espargaro Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT)
Cal Crutchlow Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)
Mattia Pasini Speed Master (ART CRT)
Hector Barbera Pramac Racing (GP12)
Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda (RC213V)
Karel Abraham Cardion AB Motoracing

Sponsored Content