Honda thanks Cal Crutchlow for his service to HRC

Honda MotoGP bosses have thanked Britain’s Cal Crutchlow for his five years of service to the factory

Cal Crutchlow, Jack Miller [1200]

HONDA MotoGP top-brass have thanked Britain’s Cal Crutchlow as the rider was ousted from the LCR Honda squad in favour of Alex Marquez.

Crutchlow joined LCR back in 2015 on a factory-backed contract, securing 12 podium finishes and three MotoGP wins, including his historic win at Brno, the first time a Briton stood on the top-step in MotoGP since Barry Sheene in the 1981 Swedish Grand Prix.

The HRC statement reads:

‘HRC would like to extend their thanks to Cal Crutchlow for his diligent and tireless work since joining HRC in 2015

‘With three wins and 12 podiums, the British rider has been a valuable asset on and off track – a constant source of excellent feedback for the engineers and a key part of developing the Honda RC213V in recent years. HRC wish him all the best in his future endeavours.’

Crutchlow overlooked in favour of 2019 Moto2 champion Alex Marquez who himself is vacating his factory Repsol seat alongside his older brother after being replaced by Pol Espagaro.

With Crutchlow’s future in the sport looking bleak, MotoGP supremo Carmelo Ezpeleta has thrown the Brit’ a lifeline in the form of assistance finding a ride for 2021. While there is no official news on what machine Cal will ride or the squad he’ll represent, all signs point to a switch to the Aprilia, a team he’s already said that he is keen to help given his sizable wealth of experience in the MotoGP class.

2021 MotoGP rider line-up so far:

Repsol Honda:

Marc Marquez (End of 2024)

Pol Espargaro (End of 2022)

Alex Marquez (moving to LCR Honda)

Monster Yamaha:

Maverick Vinales (End of 2022)

Fabio Quartararo (End of 2022)

Valentino Rossi (set to join Petronas Yamaha for 2021)

Ducati Team:

Jack Miller (End of 2021, option for 2022)

Andrea Dovizioso (End of 2020)

Danilo Petrucci (moving to Tech3 KTM for 2021)


Alex Rins (End of 2022)

Joan Mir (End of 2022)

Red Bull KTM:

Miguel Oliveira (End of 2021)

Brad Binder (End of 2021)

Pol Espargaro (joining Repsol Honda)

Aprilia Gresini:

Aleix Espargaro (End of 2022)

Andrea Iannone (End of 2020)

Tech3 KTM:

Danilo Petrucci (KTM contract, end of 2021)

Iker Lecuona (KTM contract, end of 2021)

Miguel Oliveira (moving to Red Bull KTM for 2021)

LCR Honda:

Alex Marquez (HRC contract, end of 2022)

Takaaki Nakagami (HRC contract, end of 2020)

Cal Crutchlow (HRC contract, end of 2020)

Pramac Ducati:

Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati contract, end of 2020)

TBA (Jorge Martin)

Jack Miller (moving to the official Ducati team in 2021)

Avintia Racing:

Johann Zarco (Ducati contract, end of 2020)

Tito Rabat (End of 2021)

Petronas Yamaha Sepang Team:

Franco Morbidelli (End of 2022)

TBA - (reserved for Valentino Rossi)

Fabio Quartararo (joining Monster Yamaha in 2021)