Aragon MotoGP, Free Practice Results | Miller fastest as Crutchlow stars

Jack Miller tops the timesheets during Friday free practice for the Aragon MotoGP, but it is third place Cal Crutchlow that steals headlines

Cal Crutchlow - Yamaha

Jack Miller ended the opening day of free practice for the 2021 Aragon MotoGP at the top of the timesheets as he attempts to give his fortunes a much needed boost, while Cal Crutchlow was a surprise third fastest.

The Ducati rider was considered a title contender early in the season after back-to-back wins in Spain and France, but his form has waned with only a single podium since then putting him in the shadow of his team-mate Pecco Bagnaia.

However, he was in fine form as MotoGP returned to the Motorland Aragon circuit in Alcaniz, Spain, his best time proving two tenths up on Aleix Espargaro, who - fresh from his podium at Silverstone - gave Aprilia continued reason to be happy in second.

The star of the session though was Cal Crutchlow, who surged to third on the timesheets in only his fourth outing of the 2021 MotoGP season and only his second showing on the factory Yamaha vacated by Maverick Vinales.

That placed him ahead of the two Pramac Ducatis of Johann Zarco and Jorge Martin, with title rivals Bagnaia and Fabio Quartararo following in sixth and seventh, despite the former taking a tumble at Turn 5. 

Eighth quickest was Marc Marquez - a multiple race winner at Aragon - who was quickest of all in FP1 but failed to improve in FP2 when he crashed while slipstreaming behind Honda counterpart and brother Alex Marquez at Turn 16.

Takaaki Nakagami and Enea Bastianini rounded out the top ten, the latter benefitting from the longer straights to haul the ageing but still powerful Ducati GP19 up the order. 

Vinales, meanwhile, kicked off his new Aprilia career with the 20th fastest time out of the 22 runners.

2021 Aragon MotoGP | Motorland Aragon | Friday Free Practice RESULTS [FP1 + FP2] 

2021 Aragon MotoGP | Motorland Aragon | Friday Free Practice [FP1 + FP2] | Round 13 / 19
PosRiderNat.MotoGP TeamMotoGP BikeTiming
1Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo TeamDucati GP211m 47.613
2Aleix EspargaroESPAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia RS-GP1m 47.886
3Cal CrutchlowGBRMonster Energy Yamaha Yamaha YZF-M11m 47.897
4Johann ZarcoFRAPramac RacingDucati GP211m 47.988
5Jorge MartinESPPramac RacingDucati GP211m 48.023
6Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo TeamDucati GP211m 48.032
7Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Energy Yamaha Yamaha YZF-M11m 48.034
8Marc MarquezESPRepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V1m 48.048
9Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda IdemitsuHonda RC213V1m 48.057
10Enea BastianiniITAAvintia EsponsoramaDucati GP191m 48.086
11Pol EspargaroESPRepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V1m 48.186
12Alex RinsESPTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki GSX-RR1m 48.267
13Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 48.278
14Alex MarquezESPLCR Honda CastrolHonda RC213V1m 48.314
15Danilo PetrucciITATech3 KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 48.351
16Luca MariniITASky VR46 EsponsoramaDucati GP191m 48.456
17Iker LecuonaESPTech3 KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 48.526
18Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 48.623
19Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha SRTYamaha YZF-M11m 48.649
20Maverick VinalesESPAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia RS-GP1m 48.755
21Joan MirESPTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki GSX-RR1m 48.886
22Jake DixonGBRPetronas Yamaha SRTYamaha YZF-M11m 49.967