Kyalami Race Results (2)

Haslam holds onto the championship lead as WSB heads to the USA

LEON HASLAM took his ninth podium finish in this year's World Superbike series after winning Race Two at Kyalami on Sunday.
Haslam, who also finished a third third in Race One also extended his lead in the Championship to 15 points.
“I made a good start to the first race but just couldn’t get in front of James Toseland for third,” said Haslam. “When I finally did I was left with a pretty lonely third place. Both Fabrizio and Checa had got away while I was trying my best to get in front of Toseland. The little bit of front end suspension chatter that appeared on Saturday was still evident but I managed OK with it.”
“The second race was a slower pace than the first and I was comfortable sat in behind Jonathan Rea. I made a couple of passes but just couldn’t make anything stick so I decided to sit there. It was a tough, tough race from a concentration point of view and when the opportunity to get the lead came along I just grabbed it. To get the win is fantastic and a real bonus.”


1. Leon Haslam GBR Alstare Suzuki GSX-R1000 39mins 52.870s
2. Jonathan Rea GBR Ten Kate Honda CBR1000RR +0.522s
3. Max Biaggi ITA Aprilia Racing RSV-4 +0.601s
4. Cal Crutchlow GBR Yamaha Sterilgarda YZF R1 +0.991s
5. Carlos Checa ESP Althea Ducati 1198 +1.479s
6. James Toseland GBR Yamaha Sterilgarda YZF R1 +13.324s
7. Troy Corser AUS BMW Motorrad S1000RR +13.740s
8. Michel Fabrizio ITA Xerox Ducati 1198 +14.250s
9. Jakub Smrz CZE B&G Racing Ducati 1198 +15.190s
10. Noriyuki Haga JPN Xerox Ducati 1198 +16.790s
11. Ruben Xaus ESP BMW Motorrad S1000RR +21.101s
12. Luca Scassa ITA Supersonic Ducati 1198 +22.670s
13. Shane Byrne GBR Althea Ducati 1198 +24.506s
14. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki SRT ZX-10R +31.301s
15. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Alstare Suzuki GSX-R1000 +31.836s
16. Chris Vermeulen AUS Kawasaki SRT ZX-10R +33.710s
17. Max Neukirchner GER Ten Kate Honda CBR1000RR +35.203s
18. Broc Parkes AUS Echo-CRS Honda CBR1000RR +55.929s
19. Roger Lee Hayden USA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +56.074s
20. Matteo Baiocco ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +1min 08.481s


21. Leon Camier GBR Aprilia Racing RSV4 17 laps
22. Sheridan Morais RSA Aprilia RSV4 10 laps

Next round: Miller Motorsports Park, USA, 31st May 2010