WSBK 2015: Qatar race two results

Double win for Aprilia in the 2015 WSBK season finale

THE final World Superbike race of 2015 was won on the final lap after another race long fight by Aprilia’s Leon Haslam and Ducati’s Chaz Davies with only 0.1s separating them.

Haslam took his second win of the year ahead of Davies who secured second overall in the final standings as Tom Sykes finished third in race two and in the standings.  The winning margin was 0.110s and meant it was a double win for Aprilia in the season finale.

Michael van der Mark completed his debut World Superbike season with another strong showing. The Dutchman finished fourth after running in the leading group for the first 12 laps before losing pace in the closing stages.

Sylvain Guintoli finished fifth on his last race for the Pata Honda World Superbike squad. The 2014 champ ended the day’s second 17 lap race a fraction of a second ahead of Leandro Mercado who took a season’s best sixth.

Seventh was Randy de Puniet for the Voltcom Crescent Suzuki Team who equalled his best result, whilst eighth to tenth went to Niccolo Canepa, David Salom, and Ayrton Badovini.

Xavi Fores did not compete in race two after withdrawing through illness whilst Alex Lowes retired his Voltcom Crescent Suzuki at the end of the opening lap. Leon Camier was able to start race 2, but also failed to finish for the second time today.

2015 champ Jonathan Rea had his hopes on settinga new points record, but instead he had to settle for a DNF due to technical problems with his Kawasaki machine.

The 2015 World Superbike championship is now over, but the 2016 World Superbike championship is just around the corner with winter testing starting soon for the new season.

Race results:

1. Leon Haslam GBR Red Devils Roma Aprilia
2. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati  +0.110
3. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing +0.388
4. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Honda World Superbike+7.653
5. Sylvain Guintoli FRA PATA Honda World Superbike +14.487
6. Leandro Mercado ARG Barni Ducati +19.363
7. Randy de Puniet FRA Voltcom Crescent Suzuki +22.468
8. Niccolò Canepa ITA Althea Ducati  +22.530
9. David Salom ESP Pedercini Kawasaki +27.596
10. Ayrton Badovini ITA BMW Italia +29.294
11. Christophe Ponsson FRA Pedercini Kawasaki +1:02.181
12. Gianluca Vizziello ITA Grillini Kawasaki +1:05.246 
13. Gabor Rizmayer HUN Team Toth BMW +1:05.256
14. Imre Toth HUN Team Toth BMW +1 lap 
15. Alex Phillis AUS Grillini Kawasaki +2 laps 

DNF. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki
DNF. Jordi Torres ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia
DNF. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing  
DNF. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta F4
DNF. Alex Lowes GBR Voltcom Crescent Suzuki

  • Sign up for Visordown's weekly newsletter, Bugsplat, to get the best motorcycle news, road tests and features plus exclusive competitions and offers direct to your inbox. Register as a Visordown member here and tick the box for Bugsplat in your newsletter settings here.