WorldSBK Aragon Race 2 Results: Not even Rea can defeat himself

Jonathan Rea almost defeats himself with a late error while leading comfortably but the WorldSBK champion successfully repels late pressure from Chaz Davies

Jonathan Rea - Kawasaki Racing Team

Jonathan Rea has regained the lead in the 2020 WorldSBK Championship standings with victory in race two despite almost throwing it away with a mistake in the closing stages.

The Ulsterman appeared on course for a comfortable victory having opened up a 1.5secs lead over the opposition when with four laps remaining he ran wide on the exit of the long final left-hander forcing him to sit up to avoid the gravel trap.

The scrub of speed allowed Davies to immediately pounce, passing into Turn 1, but Rea fought right back with a thrilling side-by-side battle for the next few corners before the Kawasaki man edged back ahead.

From here there was no mistake as Rea pushed on to dismiss the threat posed by Davies, his seventh win of the year regaining him the series lead over Scott Redding, who could only manage fourth having run second early on before fading.

Honda is celebrating its first WorldSBK podium with the CBR1000RR-R Fireblade - and its first as a manufacturer since 2016 - after Alvaro Bautista produced a fine performance to secure third, going toe-to-toe with Redding and Michael van der Mark and coming out on top. 

Michael Ruben Rinaldi completed the top five on the privateer Go Eleven Ducati from Michael van der Mark with Leon Haslam prevailing in a six-way fight for seventh, ahead of Toprak Razgatlioglu, Alex Lowes and Garrett Gerloff.

WorldSBK Aragon - Race Results 2

2020 Aragon WorldSBK, Motorland Aragon - Race Results (2)
1Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR19 Laps
2Chaz Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+1.280
3Alvaro BautistaESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+3.599
4Scott Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+5.445
5Michael Ruben RinaldiITATeam GOELEVENDucati Panigale V4 R+6.687
6Michael van der MarkNEDPata Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+9.561
7Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+20.911
8Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+21.248
9Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+21.399
10Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Junior WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+21.717
11Xavi ForesESPKawasaki Puccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+21.809
12Tom SykesGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW S1000RR+22.012
13Federico CaricasuloITAGRT Junior WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+25.244
14Eugene LavertyIRLBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW S1000RR+30.088
15Maximilian ScheibCHIOrelac Racing VerdnaturaKawasaki ZX-10RR+36.546
16Sylvain BarrierFRABrixx PerformanceDucati Panigale V4 R+49.074
17Christophe PonssonFRANuova M2 RacingAprilia RSV4 1000+55.511
18Takumi TakahashiJPNMIE Racing AltheaHonda CBR1000RR-R+1m >
19Lorenzo GabelliniITAMIE Racing AltheaHonda CBR1000RR-R+1m >
DNFRoman RamosESPOutdo Kawasaki TPRKawasaki ZX-10RR 
DNFMarco MelandriITABarni RacingDucati Panigale V4 R 
DNFLoris BazFRATen Kate RacingYamaha YZF-R1 
DNSLeandro MercadoARGMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R