San Marino MotoGP FP Results | Bastianini quickest at home, Bagnaia grid penalty

Enea Bastianini celebrates new Ducati factory deal by topping Friday practice for the San Marino MotoGP as Pecco Bagnaia picks up a three-place grid penalty

Enea Bastianini - Gresini Ducati

Enea Bastianini toasted his newly announced deal to join the factory Ducati team for the 2023 MotoGP World Championship by topping the timesheets on home soil at Misano in practice for the San Marino MotoGP.

Returning to the scene of his two spectacular podium results at the Rimini venue a year ago on the ageing Avintia Ducati, Bastianini consolidated his soft-favourite status at Misano by clocking the fastest time in FP2.

Leading a Ducati 1-2-3-4, Bastianini arrives in Misano on the back of his maiden pole position start in Austria two weeks ago, which was then followed by confirmation Ducati has selected him over Jorge Martin for its works ride next year.

Poised to join Pecco Bagnaia in the ‘red squad’, Bastianini led his future team-mate on the Friday timesheets at a margin of just over a tenth.

However, Bagnaia - who has inched his way back into the title fight following three victories on the bounce - will seek a fourth success from a compromised position after being handed a three-place grid penalty for clumsily impeding Alex Marquez when he sat up on the racing line at the exit of Turn 2.

Jack Miller and Johann Zarco completed an all-Ducati top four, with championship leader Fabio Quartararo - who clinched his 2021 MotoGP title at Misano a year ago - once again leading the ‘best of the rest’ in fifth place.

Maverick Vinales headed up his title-fighting team-mate Aleix Espargaro in sixth and seventh respectively, the Aprilia pair chased by two more Ducati riders in Pramac’s Jorge Martin and VR46’s Marco Bezzecchi.

With possible rain being forecast for Saturday morning, the fight to end FP2 inside the top ten for a provisional Q2 entry spot gave the session added intensity with Franco Morbidelli emerging as the surprise figure in tenth place.

Though the Italian is a race winner at Misano - scoring his first win at the venue in 2020 on the Petronas SRT Yamaha - this is the first time he has featured inside the top ten at the end of a session for some time in what has been a torrid year for Quartararo’s team-mate.

Of those no doubt hoping rain stays away for FP3, Pol Espargaro was the best of the Honda contingent in 11th, followed by the factory KTM pair of Miguel Oliveira and Brad Binder, while Alex Rins was the fastest Suzuki man in 14th.

Elsewhere, Andrea Dovizioso’s final MotoGP race weekend before retiring got off to a low key start in 20th place, while Remy Gardner - who revealed he is out of a MotoGP ride for 2023 after being axed by KTM - was 23rd best, just behind RNF Aprilia-bound team-mate Raul Fernandez.

Bringing up the rear was Kazuki Watanabe, the Japanese Superbike rider - who is deputising for the injured Joan Mir - three seconds off the next slowest rider Darry Binder in 25th and last.

2022 San Marino MotoGP | Misano | Friday Free Practice Results [FP1 + FP2]

2022 San Marino MotoGP | Misano | Friday Free Practice Results [FP1 + FP2] | Round 14 / 21
PosRiderNat.MotoGP TeamMotoGP BikeTiming
1Enea BastianiniITAGresini RacingDucati GP211m 31.517
2Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo TeamDucati GP221m 31.631
3Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo TeamDucati GP221m 31.702
4Johann ZarcoFRAPramac RacingDucati GP221m 31.837
5Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Energy Yamaha Yamaha YZF-M11m 31.843
6Maverick VinalesESPAprilia Racing Aprilia RS-GP1m 31.882
7Aleix EspargaroESPAprilia Racing Aprilia RS-GP1m 31.929
8Jorge MartinESPPramac RacingDucati GP221m 32.166
9Marco BezzecchiITAVR46 RacingDucati GP211m 32.191
10Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Energy Yamaha Yamaha YZF-M11m 32.242
11Pol EspargaroESPRepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V1m 32.301
12Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM RacingKTM RC161m 32.330
13Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM RacingKTM RC161m 32.358
14Alex RinsESPTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki GSX-RR1m 32.365
15Alex MarquezESPLCR Honda Honda RC213V1m 32.418
16Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda Honda RC213V1m 32.566
17Fabio di GiannantonioITAGresini RacingDucati GP211m 32.656
18Michele PirroITAAruba RacingDucati GP221m 32.673
19Luca MariniITAVR46 RacingDucati GP211m 32.749
20Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU RNF Racing YamahaYamaha YZF-M11m 32.894
21Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V1m 32.978
22Raul FernandezESPTech3 KTM RacingKTM RC161m 33.200
23Remy GardnerAUSTech3 KTM RacingKTM RC161m 33.559
24Darryn BinderRSAWithU RNF Racing YamahaYamaha YZF-M11m 33.608
25Kazuki WatanabeJPNTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki GSX-RR1m 36.019