MotoGP 2014: Austin race results

Great weekend for Repsol Honda, mixed weekend for Ducati

LAST year Marc Marquez won his first ever MotoGP race at the Circuit of the Americas in his rookie year which he replicated once again nearly one year on taking his second win of the 2014 MotoGP Championship.

The 21-year-old thereotically led the second race on the MotoGP calendar from the start as Movistar Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo was penalised for a jump start and therefore had to complete a pit lane ride through which he chose to complete after lap one. Eventually the Spaniard carved his way through the field to finish in 10th.

Marquez’s Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa tried to stick with current World Champion, but was unable to challenge for the win at Austin allowing Marquez to become the first rider since Mick Doohan in 1995 to win the first two consecutive races of the year from pole.

An unexpected third place from Dovizioso put the Ducati Team on the podium, however Britain’s Cal Crutchlow was not so lucky after pitting due to tyre problems only to crash out and break his right hand a couple of laps later.

Regardless of starting from the first row, Stefan Bradl finished in fourth by just under two seconds after warding off a late battle with Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Bradley Smith and his team-mate Pol Espargaro who finished in fifth and sixth respectively.

Pramac Racing’s Andrea Iannone grabbed a hold of third in the early stages of the race before slowly dropping back to seventh close to Valentino Rossi who developed problems in the latter half of the race causing him to finish in eighth.

MotoGP Circuit of the Americas - Race Results:

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team 43:33.430
2. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team 43:37.554 (+4.124)
3. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team 43:54.406 (+20.976)
4. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP 43:56.220 (+22.790)
5. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 43:56.393 (+22.963)
6. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 43:59.997 (+26.567)
7. Andrea Iannone ITA Pramac Racing 44:1.687 (+28.257)
8. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 44:18.949 (+45.519)
9. Aleix Espargaro ESP NGM Forward Racing 44:21.035 (+47.605)
10. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 44:22.541 (+49.111)
11. Nicky Hayden USA Drive M7 Aspar 44:34.165 (+1’00.765)
12. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Drive M7 Aspar 44:37.384 (+1’03.954)
13. Yonny Hernandez COL Pramac Racing 44:40.763 (+1’07.333)
14. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing 45:1.402 (+1’27.972)
15. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing 45:5.806 (+1’.32.376)
16. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport 45:5.973 (+1’32.543)
17. Danilo Petrucci ITA IodaRacing Project 45:12.606 (+1’39.176)
18. Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Racing 45:25.392 (+1’51.962)

DNF. Scott Redding GBR Go&Fun Honda Gresini
RET. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing
DNF. Cal Crutchlow GBR Ducati Team 
DNF. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini 
DNF. Broc Parkes AUS Paul Bird Motorsport